problems in Northshore Travel Trailer - Dutchmen Owners
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Technical | Towing, Maintenance and Repairs > Electrical, Batteries, Charging and Electronics
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-10-2022, 09:35 PM   #1
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: Elephant Butte
Posts: 3
New Mexico
problems in Northshore Travel Trailer

My converter needs to be replaced and I am unsure as to where it is located. There is no mention of it in the owners' manual. Does anyone know where is is located? Also, could I charge my batteries with a battery charger just to run the fridge till I can have a new converter installed. Oh, also, I have tried to run it on gas but it doesn't work so that's not an option. Thanks.
__________________

Dcan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2022, 01:04 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Wesley Chapel
Posts: 2,754
Florida
Your “converter” is probably located close to or behind the load center. There is a very good possibility that it is fused with a 30 amp slo-blow fuse directly on the unit itself. Also, get yourself an amp meter and check for actual power coming to the unit. As you turn more lights on, you can usually hear a fan running, that’s the inverter trying to maintain its cool….
__________________

franktafl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2022, 03:36 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
ewarnerusa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Helena, MT
Posts: 559
Montana
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dcan View Post
My converter needs to be replaced and I am unsure as to where it is located. There is no mention of it in the owners' manual. Does anyone know where is is located? Also, could I charge my batteries with a battery charger just to run the fridge till I can have a new converter installed. Oh, also, I have tried to run it on gas but it doesn't work so that's not an option. Thanks.
On the 2 campers I have owned, the converter is integrated into the main power center where the 12V DC side fuses are along with the 120V AC circuit breakers. While it is part of the kit, the converter portion is replaceable.

Using a standalone charger in the meantime should be just fine.

Your fridge probably needs 12V DC power to operate on propane as well in order to provide power to its control panel. So if you are dealing with no 12V power due to the converter issue, then that is why the fridge is not working on propane.
__________________
2012 Aspen Trail 2710BH | 280 watts of solar on the roof | 2x6V GC batteries | 100% LED lighting | 1500 & 300 watt PSW inverters | so far strictly boondocking
ewarnerusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2022, 07:25 PM   #4
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: Elephant Butte
Posts: 3
New Mexico
Thank you!
Dcan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2022, 07:28 PM   #5
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: Elephant Butte
Posts: 3
New Mexico
Thank You.
Dcan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2020 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×