Kodiak 291 Battery/Slide Operation - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Brand RVs > Travel Trailer
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-13-2014, 12:41 AM   #1
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Fargo
Posts: 4
North Dakota
Kodiak 291 Battery/Slide Operation

Looking for some insight on using the "House" battery to operate the slides and awnings. This is a brand new unit and has a fully charged battery (According to the panel), for some reason I cannot get the slides or awning to open when using the wireless remote or the panel buttons after our first trip out. If I plug in they work fine, unplugged they bog down immediately and stop moving. As I am typing this I am thinking I need to check the fuse box?? I am new to this so nothing will surprise me at this point, usually something so obvious you miss it. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!!

Thanks,

Dan
__________________

hugs0352 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 01:25 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Ridgway
Posts: 312
Colorado
I don't have a solution but I can tell you if it was a fuse then you would have no power at all. You say it is trying but bogging down, again it's not a fuse if that's the case. I would start with the battery. If it's working well plugged in then you have to assume the slide and awning are ok and it's a bad battery. Just because the battery shows full charge does not mean it's good.
Start by popping off the caps and checking the water level. If that's ok then remove the battery and take it to an auto shop to be tested. Or just put in a new battery if you have one and see what happens
__________________

rcharrette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2014, 07:10 PM   #3
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Fargo
Posts: 4
North Dakota
I think my problem was I turned off (On) the battery override so it wasn't getting charged. I am taking it out again this weekend so we'll find out if it is the battery or not.

Thanks,
__________________
Dan
2014 Kodiak 291
2011 Yukon XL Denali
hugs0352 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2014, 08:23 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
DesertRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Desert Hot Springs
Posts: 1,760
California
Slides will work faster if you plug into shore power first before moving them out. If no shore power leave your trailer plugged into your vehicle (running) & open slides. Do the same when closing.
__________________
Mike
2002 42' Monaco Signature Triple Crown tow 2014 F-150
2014 Voltage V3605 Sold 5/3/17
2012 F-350 6.7l CC 4X4, Sold 10/10/17
DesertRat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2014, 08:30 PM   #5
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Fargo
Posts: 4
North Dakota
Agreed DesertRat, since the battery was new I figured there would be a little more juice. Learning curve.
__________________
Dan
2014 Kodiak 291
2011 Yukon XL Denali
hugs0352 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2014, 12:48 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Wanderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Jellystone
Posts: 489
Wyoming
Most people have two batteries, not just one. If the battery was left too long without a charge you'll be replacing it. I'd get it load tested before heading out.
__________________

Wanderer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2020 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×