slide-out trouble - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Brand RVs > Travel Trailer
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-18-2014, 12:13 AM   #1
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Dripping Springs
Posts: 3
Texas
Unhappy slide-out trouble

Hi,
I bought a 2001 Komfort about 2 weeks ago. ghe slide worked fine at the previous owners house but when I got it home & opened it a few days ago it stopped working-1/2 way open. ggrrr.
So I reset all breakers in panel & tested the fuses...everything was good. BUT I noticed that there wasn't a breaker or fuse labelled for the slide, so I googled & have been hearing that some units have the breaker/fuse inline near the motor. OK, where's the motor? lol. i got underneath & everything is covered with a stiff solid mess-like material.
also isn't there or shouldn't there be some sort of manual crank?? Where??
I called Camping world & they said they didn't work on slides so they referred me to a mobile rv guy, who was nooo help. I googled a few local mobile rv places but havent gotten any calls back. wth??
I'm hoping one of my rv'in brothers/sisters may be able to help me locate the motor & maybe some sort of trouble shooting.

thanks in advance,
Shirley
__________________

desertdiva71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2014, 03:57 PM   #2
Site Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North of the 49th
Posts: 223
British Columbia
It may be helpful to post the model # of your trailer. Did you get a crank handle with the trailer? We have an aerolite and the crank location in between the step on the opposite side of the slide, it's about a 1" hole in the side of the frame that the crank slips into and meshes with the mechanism. Took awhile to find but works easily once you do find it.

Cheers
Daryl B.
__________________

grump010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2014, 06:47 PM   #3
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Dripping Springs
Posts: 3
Texas
I'm not certain what model...the only thing on the trailer says "Komfort 26". The Pinkslip just says travel trailer.
So I looked where u suggested & I see 2 rail with 2 lil roller guides about 3 feet apart but it's too dark to see if there's a manual crank in either of them. So I guess I'm gonna call camping World-again & see if they have the crank handle for sale. (The rail looks like they are the main support for the slide....slide in/out in these rails)
desertdiva71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 01:27 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Wanderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Jellystone
Posts: 489
Wyoming
My crank is under the sofa and you use a socket driver to use it. Make sure you disconnect the battery or the wire to the motor before cranking it manually!
Wanderer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 02:01 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
HornedToad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Midland
Posts: 606
Texas
If you can't find the manual crank under the sofa,
some other places to look...

a lug nut or bar with roll pins on the opposing side of the slide

or look for a trap door, square cut out with screws in the corners,
in the underbelly on the opposing side of the slide.

With cable slides the manual crank is a roll bar on top.

Every time I ever had to use the manual slide crank,
just a few turns and the motor could take over.

And of course with the newer newest Schwinn Tech slides,
you are the manual crank after disconnecting the motors,
by pushing them in, with... I guess some elbow grease???
__________________

Mike & Helen
2014 Voltage 3895 EPIC III
2013 Ford F350 CC DRW FX4
HornedToad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 02:22 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
mhbell's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Ogden
Posts: 60
Utah
I had a friend who had the same problem and with a little help managed to push in the slide while someone worked the slide switch. We found out later it was a couple of bad cells in a battery even though the lights worked in the unit. check your battery / batteries for a dead cell.
__________________
2012 Dutchman Denali 289RK
2007 Ford F250 Lariat Super Duty
2WD, CC, Power Stroke Diesel
mhbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 03:18 AM   #7
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Dripping Springs
Posts: 3
Texas
Thank y'all soo much. Still haven't found a manual crank BUT I figured out the problem. Sigh. I kept hearing a faint clicking from the panel box-so of course I was convinced that was the problem but everything checked out. For whatever reason though I opened the tiny cupbard next to it where the water pump is & I could hear the clicking real good....I started wiggling wires around, got mad again (lol), hit the switch as I was walking out & Viola...it worked. Apparently when we replaced the water pump a couple days ago we must have moved/tapped the wires. but what's weird is that the wires seem to be running along with the wires to water pump wires along 1 of the water hoses so neither of would have ever guessed they didn't go to the pump.
Problem mostly solved....I still have to locate the manual crank for slide.

Again, thank y'all soooo much & I'm sure I'll be back for more advice.
__________________

desertdiva71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
2001 komfort, slideout issues

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2020 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×