New Guy rolling with 2017 Kodiak by Dutchmen Express Series M-172E - Dutchmen Owners
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-30-2023, 08:03 PM   #1

Colorado
New Guy rolling with 2017 Kodiak by Dutchmen Express Series M-172E

Hi Everyone, I'm looking forward to participating in this community. I'm completely new to camper camping, having just purchased a 2017 Kodiak by Dutchmen Express Series M-172E. My daughter is 8 and I needed to get going on camping before she adopted the attitudes of her mother.

Anyhow, I'm here for some answers (please and thank you) and will post those wherever I figure out is appropriate. But a quick overview in case someone has comments:

- I just winterized (Colorado) via compressed air blow out and poured some antifreeze down the drains for extra prudence and drained the excess. I'm in CO. 4 lower drains + water heater thing. Any comments on my approach.

- I would like advice over wintering the battery. Just leave it plugged into shore power or pull it out and trickle charge? I'm concerned about overcharge - not sure how the battery charging is handled via extension cord plugin.

- Is there a way I can just take the camper to have the propane topped off for the coming year rather than waiting for the tanks to go empty and replace them?

Thanks all and God Bless - G

GDMatthews is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2023, 01:17 PM   #2

California
I can address the last two but being from So Cal I can’t help with winterization.

If easy enough I would remove the batteries and store in a heated garage or if not heated then wrap in an old blanket. Freezing cold is the enemy of batteries.