2018 255BHSL Newbie control panel question - Dutchmen Owners
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-02-2020, 02:14 PM   #1

Georgia
2018 255BHSL Newbie control panel question

Newbie here, the previous owners couldn’t tell me how to work anything on the camper because they never used it. So, on the panel next to door, what’s the “electric” and “gas” button for/do? I’m assuming for water heater, but can someone elaborate? Also, if it’s for water heater aren’t you also supposed to make sure there’s water in tank first before turning it on? If so, how do I do that?

And, are these wired to where if you have a 12 volt battery installed that the power is always on, or is there a secret switch somewhere I’m missing to kill power to battery? I know you can install aftermarket cutoff switches but there’s not one, just seeing if there’s something factory installed first.

And one last thing, is there a low water drain anywhere for winterizing stuff? And what are these two water lines with valves on them I took a picture of?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	18BE3246-7AFC-4C89-AB5B-FDA59BDF72C0.jpg
Views:	247
Size:	33.1 KB
ID:	6455   Click image for larger version

Name:	3135C75E-F005-4BE4-B621-5AC708F0B4FC.jpg
Views:	446
Size:	35.4 KB
ID:	6456  

Backwaterflipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2020, 06:24 PM   #2

North Carolina
I have the same panel and drains on my 2021 283BHSL...You are correct, the electric and gas buttons are your hot water heater. If you plug up to city water, cut your hot water on in a sink until it quits spitting air, flip your power of choice (gas or electric) and you get hot water. Those drains are water drains for winterizing. You may have one more closer to your water storage tank (mine is white and in front of my door) for draining any holding tank water. Hope this helps.

Flintman is offline   Reply With Quote