Tire Pressure Monitoring System - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Technical | Towing, Maintenance and Repairs > Chassis and Running Gear
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-16-2013, 11:02 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 204
Colorado
Tire Pressure Monitoring System

I am going to get a TPMS system for the 5er if for no other reason than the same peace of mind I get by having it on the truck. A good friend is recommending the TST TPMS system. I know there are a number of different systems out there and I am wondering who uses TPMS and what brands and why you made that particular brand.

Thanks in advance!
__________________

__________________


2013 Infinity 3640RL with Trailair pin box
2008 F-250 King Ranch Power Stroke diesel with B&W Companion Slider hitch
Chalkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2013, 11:10 PM   #2
Site Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North of the 49th
Posts: 223
British Columbia
I just bought the Hawkshead system. We've been out 3 times and temps and pressures read accurately, so far I'm happy with the purchase. I think this is the same as the Tyredawg TPMS.

Cheers
Daryl B.
__________________

grump010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2013, 02:10 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
waytoogood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Southern California
Posts: 160
California
I have the TST TPMS system. It works good but does loose signal with the trailer from time to time.
__________________
2013 3895 Voltage/Full Paint
2007 Chevy C5500
waytoogood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2013, 02:39 AM   #4
Site Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North of the 49th
Posts: 223
British Columbia
Just a note,
The Hawkshead that I bought came with an amplifier that mounts on the back of the Tow Vehicle or front of the trailer. My trailer is 24' ball to bumper and I didn't need to use/need it.
grump010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2013, 02:49 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
waytoogood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Southern California
Posts: 160
California
Quote:
Originally Posted by grump010 View Post
Just a note,
The Hawkshead that I bought came with an amplifier that mounts on the back of the Tow Vehicle or front of the trailer. My trailer is 24' ball to bumper and I didn't need to use/need it.
I wonder if it's compatable with the TST system?
__________________
2013 3895 Voltage/Full Paint
2007 Chevy C5500
waytoogood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2013, 02:58 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 204
Colorado
Quote:
Originally Posted by waytoogood View Post
I have the TST TPMS system. It works good but does loose signal with the trailer from time to time.
That is interesting. My buddy has the largest Hitchhiker they make and he did not mention this. I'll have to ask him about this. Your Voltage and my Infinity are about the same length.

Quote:
Originally Posted by waytoogood View Post
I wonder if it's compatable with the TST system?
TST does make a repeater to boost the signal over a longer distance.
__________________


2013 Infinity 3640RL with Trailair pin box
2008 F-250 King Ranch Power Stroke diesel with B&W Companion Slider hitch
Chalkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2013, 06:33 AM   #7
Member
 
MikeB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: North Of Spokane
Posts: 39
Washington
I have the TST system, along with the extended receiver, and a dozen of the new flow thru sensors mounted on the valves. I only have about a thousand miles with it so far, but I am very pleased. I tried it without the extra receiver mounted, and no issues with my setup. I have a CCLB truck with a 42' Voltage 3950, the only time I lost signal was thru a rain storm for about 10 minutes, then all came back. The info is accurate, and gives me peace of mind. Will no longer tow without it, I even move a couple of sensors from the Voltage to my 22' deck over when towing that. Still no need for the extra cost receiver.
I looked at alot of systems before buying the one I did, and this one is so easy to program. Each sensor, all 12, labeled and the parameters set took very little time. It auto senses them when held near, the first time I had the whole batch to close while at my workbench, had to do it over for a couple. Other than that learning curve, have been very happy so far.
MikeB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2013, 12:33 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: East Bolton
Posts: 167
Quebec
Good to know. I will be buying a TPMS soon and your comments indicate I won't need the extra receiver. Thanks.
__________________
Kevin, Barb and Jake (the Golden/Lab Mix)
East Bolton, Quebec, Canada
2012 Infinity 3640RL
2012 GMC 2500HD Diesel
kevinmiles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 12:58 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: East Bolton
Posts: 167
Quebec
Has anyone out there from Canada ordered the TST system from the Truck Systems Technologies website? The 507RV model with 4 sensors is advertised there for $259 and the do allow shipment to Canada. I was just wondering what import duties, brokerage fees, taxes, etc were added to the price when it arrived at you door. Any input would be appreciated.
__________________
Kevin, Barb and Jake (the Golden/Lab Mix)
East Bolton, Quebec, Canada
2012 Infinity 3640RL
2012 GMC 2500HD Diesel
kevinmiles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 02:17 PM   #10
Member
 
MikeB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: North Of Spokane
Posts: 39
Washington
Can't help with the Canada issue, but I as well ordered it straight from them, price was about the same as anywhere else at the time. I spent about $850 for the whole system, including the extra cost receiver, 12 sensors, to my door. Not the total answer you were looking for, but they were good to deal with in my case.

Mike B.
MikeB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 04:25 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: East Bolton
Posts: 167
Quebec
Thanks for your input .... and I have also heard they are very good to deal with. Now we'll see if any of my fellow Canucks have any feedback re import costs. I will be acquiring one of these systems in any case, but it may be better to just wait until I'm in the US and buy one somewhere down there.
__________________
Kevin, Barb and Jake (the Golden/Lab Mix)
East Bolton, Quebec, Canada
2012 Infinity 3640RL
2012 GMC 2500HD Diesel
kevinmiles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 02:48 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
hddecker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: kamloops
Posts: 2,152
British Columbia
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinmiles View Post
Has anyone out there from Canada ordered the TST system from the Truck Systems Technologies website? The 507RV model with 4 sensors is advertised there for $259 and the do allow shipment to Canada. I was just wondering what import duties, brokerage fees, taxes, etc were added to the price when it arrived at you door. Any input would be appreciated.
Kevin, if you are going to import anything from the US, stay away from UPS for shipping.

The brokerage fees they charge are userous. As an example, I ordered some prefilters for my S&B intake, they have a warehouse in Vancouver for shipping to Canadians. They had one filter in stock in Vancouver, but said they would send the other one from the other one from the California warehouse with no additional shipping charges.

I didn't think that it would come UPS, but when it did surprise, surprise, that $25.00 filter just cost me an additional $18.00 for brokerage fees alone. Add to that the 12% HST and I almost paid for a second filter.

If you can have something shipped by USPS, you will pay the HST + a small handling fee for Canada Post. The last time I used the postal sevrives that fee was $5.00, but it's probably more now.

One other consideration is where the product is made, if it's made in the US or Mexico it's duty free. If it's made off shore you may have to pay duty as well.
hddecker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 02:04 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: East Bolton
Posts: 167
Quebec
Excellent feedback. Thanks for your help.
__________________
Kevin, Barb and Jake (the Golden/Lab Mix)
East Bolton, Quebec, Canada
2012 Infinity 3640RL
2012 GMC 2500HD Diesel
kevinmiles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2014, 04:37 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Fanboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Chesapeake
Posts: 343
Virginia
Older thread but it's on the same subject matter. Those who have been running with a tpms what kind of tire temps do you see and what grade tire (E,G) along with approximate axle weights. I am tiring to figure out what to set mine on for a HOT alarm. I've only used mine on a short 2 hr trip and the temp was about 10* above ambient. Do any of you see a constant with degrees over ambient temps.
__________________
Scott n Cindy
2011 GMC 3500 4x4 DRW
2014 Voltage 3895 Epic3
Fanboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2014, 05:26 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
donzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Memphis
Posts: 1,447
Michigan
I have the Pressure Pro and have been happy - I have the antenna mounted under the bed of my truck near the spare and have had no issues losing signal.
__________________
2014-3950, Full Paint, 17.5" tires, 370W solar, 3100W Magnum inverter w/ AGS, 7500w diesel generator, Micro-Air Easy Start 364 (x3)
2019 Ram 3500 Limited w/ Max Tow pkg
donzinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2014, 11:07 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Parksville
Posts: 15
British Columbia
I have a TPMS system with my fifth wheel. Mine is the Tire Traker (only 1 k) model (from Techno RV). When I researched this, I noticed that there are several manufacturers who seem to have identical looking units, so I think that they are probably made in one (Chinese) plant with different brand names. Besides Tire Traker,check out Tire Tech, Inno Tech, Tire Minder (available at CW). Incidentally CW used to handle a completely different brand and style which was a disaster. I personally know 2 people who took it back and got full refunds without any hassle.
As for my system, it is OK - not great, but it does provide some reassurance. Before our trip to Victoria, a couple of weeks ago, I set all tires to required pressure with a digital tire gauge. After running for a while, the fifth wheel tires all showed different pressures according to TPMS. But they were probably within 5 PSI of each other.
As for importing into Canada, I purchased mine while we were visiting US. But they short shipped 2 monitors, so they shipped them directly to my house. Even though there was no cost, it still cost me for duty, brokerage etc. I should have got them to state, warranty replacement, or something similar. That way it (usually) passes through duty & tax free.
Oh, one last thing. It seems that you need to drive for a few minutes before the monitor will pick up the signals. So you can't just set it up in the driveway. (At least that's my experience).
But I do recommend some sort of TPMS, whatever system you get.
__________________

__________________
2011 Denali 262RLX Fifth Wheel
GMC Sierra 3500HD Gas
Tollyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×