A/C fan runs during Furnace - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Technical | Towing, Maintenance and Repairs > Heating, Cooling and Appliances
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-14-2017, 10:41 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Sumter
Posts: 29
South Carolina
A/C fan runs during Furnace

I'm turning on my furnace in my '15 Aerolite Dutchman for the first time. The furnace runs fine and blows warm through the floor vents.

MY QUESTION IS WHY DOES MY A/C FAN RUN TOO? (in the roof vents)

1st pic thermostat; 2nd pic A/C unit, 3rd pic is where the heater is located in the right corner.

(I de-winterized to take the trailer to Key West last week. Now there are freezing temps to about 28 the next few nights here in SC) I've emptied the waterlines and going to run the heater during the night.

Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	17328064_1696768017017010_1993480342_n.jpg
Views:	95
Size:	48.6 KB
ID:	3914   Click image for larger version

Name:	17274341_1696767953683683_1080544920_n.jpg
Views:	82
Size:	48.4 KB
ID:	3915   Click image for larger version

Name:	17352977_1696767893683689_1336420839_n.jpg
Views:	104
Size:	46.4 KB
ID:	3916  
__________________

All American 6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2017, 10:51 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Sumter
Posts: 29
South Carolina
Facebook's RV Tips with 56k members answered the question in less than a minute.

Click on fan. Click the + button to put fan to auto.

Now the A/C will not blow when furnace is on.
__________________

All American 6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2017, 11:27 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
snakebitten's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Alvin
Posts: 728
Texas
Cool. I was gonna say:

Click on fan. Click the + button to put fan to auto.

Now the A/C will not blow when furnace is on.
__________________
2017 Aerolite 213 RBSL-ND
2018 Wolf Pup 17RP Limited (Tiny THauler)
2018 F150 King Ranch 3.5 Beast
2003 Ram 2500 Cummins (can't kill this beast)
snakebitten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2017, 01:33 AM   #4
Site Team
 
wahoonc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Sprung Leak
Posts: 3,138
North Carolina
Yup the fan isn't on auto.That seems to be a common setting mishap.


(sorry... bit late to the game)
Aaron
__________________
There is madness to my methods
2015 Coleman CM16FBS(traded) 2016 Concord 300DS
2015 Ford Fusion Hybrid following along
wahoonc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2017, 03:53 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Helena, MT
Posts: 461
Montana
The solution has been offered. The reason behind the "feature" is that some air conditioners can also have a heat strip installed. This heating element means your air conditioner can be used as a heater as well, so you'd want your thermostat to to turn the air con fan on when used in this manner. The other train of thought is that running the air con fan will circulate the air within the camper more efficiently so that the furnace will heat up the interior more quickly.
__________________
2012 Aspen Trail 2710BH | 280 watts of solar on the roof | 2x6V GC batteries | 100% LED lighting | 1500 & 300 watt PSW inverters | so far strictly boondocking
ewarnerusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×