Changing dump outlets from two to one - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Technical | Towing, Maintenance and Repairs > Plumbing, Water and Propane Systems
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-18-2018, 08:55 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Fenton
Posts: 52
Michigan
Changing dump outlets from two to one

Hi everyone
We just bought a new voltage (2017 ) 3890. This one is a bath an half model.
I would like to know if anyone has changed the dump tank outlets from two to one?
I would like to do this so I only need one sewer hose ? Has anyone done this?
I'm having trouble finding the right pluming pcs do do this?
Thanks for all the help .
__________________

Toolmaker89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2018, 08:37 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
dsol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Calabasas
Posts: 94
California
I have a 3305 which has two gray tanks but all my tanks flow out the same connection. The rear gray is plumbed into the front. I have two gray valves though. I am surprised they didnít do the same with the black tanks. How annoying to have to disconnect and reconnect your sewer hose when dumping.
__________________

dsol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2018, 10:32 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: tampa
Posts: 1,157
Florida
They may not want the tanks to flow between each other if they are interconnected without backflow valves of some sort. If they are on the same level, the water levels will tend to be equal (or one will flow into the other) if there is not a valve between them.
franktafl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2018, 12:23 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
ATCguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Memphis
Posts: 1,193
Tennessee
I don't have a rear bath (toilet), but got a friend who does and wanted to have the dealer do the same thing when they installed his electric valves.

He was told the reason they usually don't plumb the rear black tank to the front dump location was due to the inability to attain a steep enough angle between the 2, because of the length of the required run. In other words... the pitch would be so shallow that a good flow from the rear to the front would not be guaranteed... possibly leaving some debris in the drain.
__________________
Tom
2013 VOLTAGE 3200 (EPIC I & II)
2014 Ford F-450 PLATINUM
ATCguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2018, 07:12 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Fenton
Posts: 52
Michigan
Ok
Thanks for all the input.
I guess I will have to go look at the momentum and fusion to see how they did it. That was one of the reason I went and looked at them to start with. Just couldn't find the layout that my wife and I liked.
Thanks again
Toolmaker89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2018, 05:47 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: prophetstown
Posts: 60
Illinois
You would still need two hoses but you could put a Y in your main hose and hook together ?
Local150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2018, 06:10 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: tampa
Posts: 1,157
Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by Local150 View Post
You would still need two hoses but you could put a Y in your main hose and hook together ?
https://www.walmart.com/ip/Camco-Rhi...waAqBjEALw_wcB
franktafl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2018, 06:13 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Roselle
Posts: 1,074
Illinois
That's what I did. Still a PITA though with two hoses, especially if you have a long run to the sewer.
Rusty
__________________
2015 Black F-350 Platinum Diesel Dually Crew Cab
2019 Riverstone Legacy 38MB (Full Paint/All Options)
2015 Voltage 3990 (Full Paint, All Options) Sold 6/18
2005 Harley Ultra Classic w/too many miles
lcv800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2018, 08:36 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: prophetstown
Posts: 60
Illinois
Quote:
Originally Posted by lcv800 View Post
That's what I did. Still a PITA though with two hoses, especially if you have a long run to the sewer.
Rusty
I understand what you are saying a PIA for sure. About the only way I can think of
Local150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2018, 02:10 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Boone
Posts: 12
North Carolina
You don't disconnect you use a Y so they both dump. Don't mess around it will only cause headaches.
__________________

3605dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT. The time now is 01:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.