Wiring Sirius Radio - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Technical | Towing, Maintenance and Repairs > Electrical, Batteries, Charging and Electronics
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-07-2015, 01:32 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Ridgway
Posts: 312
Colorado
Wiring Sirius Radio

Hi All, I just got a Sirius XM car radio kit in for the camper (we have it in the truck already. I have a few questions about installing it on my Jenson AWM970 stereo.
1)The Sirius radio comes with a Cigarette lighter plug. Can I cut that off and hard wire right to a 12V power source?
2) When I initially ordered it I saw my stereo has a "Aux1 and Aux2 setting. I use Aux1 for the TV so I planned to use Aux2 for Sirius. Upon closer inspection now I do not see Aux2, I just see "Line output" and it's the red/yellow and white AV plugs. I do however have a line marked "External IR receiver input" and the Sirius Audio plug fits right in. Will this work?
If not where where/how do I plug in audio?
Thanks,
__________________

rcharrette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2015, 02:44 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Ridgway
Posts: 312
Colorado
Ok, I see #1 is not going to work. I can not cut and wire the plug it came with for the "cig" lighter.
Still stuck on #2. Can I use the "external IR receiver input" on the Jenson stereo or do I need to purchase adapters?
I won't be able to power it up until tomorrow when I make a trip to Radio Shack.
__________________

rcharrette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2015, 12:53 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,824
Oklahoma
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcharrette View Post
Ok, I see #1 is not going to work. I can not cut and wire the plug it came with for the "cig" lighter.
Still stuck on #2. Can I use the "external IR receiver input" on the Jenson stereo or do I need to purchase adapters?
I won't be able to power it up until tomorrow when I make a trip to Radio Shack.
The 'IR' jack is for InfraRed input not audio connections . Is the antenna wire incorporated with the 12 volts?
I think you can find a dual input/single output mini plug at Radio Shack. That way you can use the single input port and both the TV and the radio. Or maybe you can connect the radio to the TV somehow.
__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2015, 10:07 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Cape Breton
Posts: 24
Nova Scotia
I used a home kit because it comes with the proper plug but you can also buy a 110V to 12V converter. The same ones they use for electric coolers for the power.
As far as the sound goes I use a double ended 3.5mm headphone jack and plug it into my aux jack. It's on the front of my DVD stereo and set it to aux. works like a charm. Then you still have your red white and yellow for the DVDs player.
They also make a 3.5 mm to red and white rca jacks if those work in the back of your unit or if you have no aux in in the front.

Hope that helps!
__________________
East Coast, Canada
2008 Chrysler Aspen
2012 Dutchmen Kodiak 242RESL
caper_6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2015, 10:26 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Ridgway
Posts: 312
Colorado
Thank you

Thank you for the help, I got it all wired up and functioning today. I ended up going to the auto store and buying a 12V socket (cig lighter), taping into the power and ground on the stereo and it works fine. For the sound I did end up plugging into the "Aux" port on the front of the stereo.
My last thing to figure out is the antenna. First, it is magnetic and of course the roof is rubber. Should I glue it down? Maybe silicone it is better so it can be removed easier? Looking for suggestions.
Also, I ran the wire under the fan in the bedroom. I was thinking I do the short run across the ceiling then down the back of the wall. I'm not sure the wife is going to like that though. Any other suggestions on getting the wire down to the stereo cleanly?
Here is what I have so far........
Thanks,
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1140.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	58.1 KB
ID:	2347   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1141.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	50.3 KB
ID:	2348  
rcharrette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2015, 10:33 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,824
Oklahoma
Does the antenna necessarily have to be outdoors? Could it not be placed in a window or someplace where the wire won't be exposed?
__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2015, 10:38 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Ridgway
Posts: 312
Colorado
I'm fairly certain if I put it in a window it will have to be moved around fairly often for reception which would be a hassle with the wire. I'm pretty set on putting it on the roof and forgetting about it.
rcharrette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2015, 10:49 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,824
Oklahoma
I was just thinking about the residential docking stations for satellite radio, they use an indoor/outdoor antenna.


It'll be a trick to hide the antenna wire unless you can come up from below the floor. Maybe through the wet bay to the inside, that'll leave most of the wire outdoors which could be hidden or covered.
__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2015, 10:51 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Occupant5143's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Sierra Vista
Posts: 308
Arizona
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcharrette View Post
My last thing to figure out is the antenna. First, it is magnetic and of course the roof is rubber. Should I glue it down? Maybe silicone it is better so it can be removed easier? Looking for suggestions.


Thanks,
I would hesitate to glue the antenna down on the roof. Too permanent.
You may want to consider gluing down a 6"x6" piece of steel sheet metal with some dicor sealant. That way you can attach the antenna to the roof and provide a ground plane for the antenna to help reception.
__________________
2012 Dutchmen Denali 289RK
2013 Ford F250 Lariat - 6.7L Powerstroke Diesel
Occupant5143 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2015, 11:13 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Ridgway
Posts: 312
Colorado
Great idea OCCUPANT5143, heading to the hardware store tomorrow, again.....
__________________

rcharrette is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT. The time now is 02:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.