Battery level monitoring and question - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Technical | Towing, Maintenance and Repairs > Electrical, Batteries, Charging and Electronics
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-10-2018, 07:36 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Northern
Posts: 91
Indiana
Battery level monitoring and question

Hello,
So a few months ago I replaced my single deep cycle battery with 2x6volt batteries. I have used them for multiple weekends with no issues, but after a few charging cycles my monitoring station is showing they are low even though I just fully charged them with my independent 12v battery charger.
I know the stock battery monitoring system isnít that great.

Here is the process I followed and pics below:
1. I fully charged my batteries and then let them sit for 24hrs.
2. They were sitting at 12.7v after the 24hrs.
3. I used my battery tester to test all the cells. They all measured 1.30 at the top of the Good range.
4. However when I check the on board system the batteries say they are only 3/4 full and if I run the pump it drops down even further even though the voltage always seems to stay above 12v etc.

Does this just mean that the on board system is flaked out? I keep my digital voltage reader plugged in at all times and have a voltage chart I found online. Is this the most accurate way to do it?

I just want to make sure my batteries are okay, since they have a 12 month free replacement warranty that I can use if they go bad this year.

Thanks


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________

Jayro88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2018, 08:17 PM   #2
Site Team
 
wahoonc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Sprung Leak
Posts: 2,941
North Carolina
I wouldn't trust the on board system. Your volt meter and specific gravity tester are much more accurate.

Aaron
__________________

__________________
There is madness to my methods
2015 Coleman CM16FBS(traded) 2016 Concord 300DS
2015 Ford Fusion Hybrid following along
wahoonc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2018, 10:05 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
wildwest450's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sparta
Posts: 1,351
Tennessee
I haven't touched a single button on the on-board system since the first month of owning the camper.

I have a voltage meter to check the battery and commonsense and experience for the black and grey tanks.
__________________
2014 Aerolite 213 RBSL
2016 Chevrolet Colorado
wildwest450 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2018, 04:59 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Roseburg
Posts: 250
Oregon
I would not trust the panel battery monitor. Is your LED digital gauge plugged into a 12 volt outlet or is it hard wired?
I would consider getting a Volt Minder. I have used one for years and they work great. You can set a low battery alarm to let you know when your getting low on voltage.
I mounted mine near the converter and hard wired to the battery cable connection at the converter. This is where the cables come from the batteries.
Digital Voltmeter | VoltMinder.com

1l243 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2018, 06:39 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Northern
Posts: 91
Indiana
The voltage meter that I have is just one that plugs into the 12v outlet.

I have just been looking at this chart, so I figure I am good as long as my voltage is above 12 volts. Is this correct? Also, are these voltages with no load, or should it remain over 12v with load on it?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Jayro88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2018, 07:42 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Roseburg
Posts: 250
Oregon
I don't let my batteries drop below 12.2v. Some devices in your trailer may require 12v+ to work properly.
Your furnace when on battery will drop the battery level fast.
There may be a volt drop at your digital outlet meter because of that type of connection but probably not significant.
1l243 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2018, 01:11 AM   #7
Site Team
 
wahoonc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Sprung Leak
Posts: 2,941
North Carolina
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jayro88 View Post
The voltage meter that I have is just one that plugs into the 12v outlet.

I have just been looking at this chart, so I figure I am good as long as my voltage is above 12 volts. Is this correct? Also, are these voltages with no load, or should it remain over 12v with load on it?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Those should be no load numbers aka resting voltage. I use a plug in meter just to give me a general idea of where my batteries are at any given time. What you eventually will want is a meter that tracks amps in and out. Victron and Trimetric are the two best. I am partial to the Victron with the blue tooth dongle. You don't want to discharge the lead acid batteries below 50% on a regular basis, an occasional dip down won't kill them.

Also which converter do you have? If you have a WFCO they don't do the charge profiles properly under most conditions. You want a Progressive Dynamics 4 stage with the charge wizard.

Aaron
__________________
There is madness to my methods
2015 Coleman CM16FBS(traded) 2016 Concord 300DS
2015 Ford Fusion Hybrid following along
wahoonc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2018, 10:35 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Elberta
Posts: 31
Alabama
Amen tom the Progressive

Quote:
Originally Posted by wahoonc View Post
Those should be no load numbers aka resting voltage. I use a plug in meter just to give me a general idea of where my batteries are at any given time. What you eventually will want is a meter that tracks amps in and out. Victron and Trimetric are the two best. I am partial to the Victron with the blue tooth dongle. You don't want to discharge the lead acid batteries below 50% on a regular basis, an occasional dip down won't kill them.

Also which converter do you have? If you have a WFCO they don't do the charge profiles properly under most conditions. You want a Progressive Dynamics 4 stage with the charge wizard.

Aaron
Amen to the progressive. The WFCO was boiling the electrolyte to more than 20% before going bad. The charge wizard works great I dueled up the monitor and have one in the living area next to the panel and one in the battery compartment. If I'm hooked up and getting things out of the front hatch I can glance and see all is well.
__________________
1996 F350 7.3L Turbodiesel
Dually w Banks Powerpack
2012 Komfort 3130
Livin the Life
OldOneTwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2018, 10:44 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Northern
Posts: 91
Indiana
This is what I currently have. I have priced out an upgrade, but it probably wonít happen for a few months. I usually use charger at my house and connect it directly to the batteries to charge them. If I am plugged in I will pull the negative battery cable off the batteries so they donít continuously charge.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________

Jayro88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT. The time now is 06:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.