Radio antenna - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Brand RVs > General RV Related Discussions
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-28-2015, 07:06 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Milan
Posts: 15
Indiana
Radio antenna

Does anyone know if the dutchmen has an external entenna for it's stereo/radio system?

Thanks
__________________

ttfo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2015, 07:39 PM   #2
Site Team
 
wahoonc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Sprung Leak
Posts: 3,138
North Carolina
Quote:
Originally Posted by ttfo View Post
Does anyone know if the dutchmen has an external entenna for it's stereo/radio system?

Thanks
It should be hooked up to the television antenna, you have to turn the booster on for the radio to work well. The booster/amplifier is controlled by the little button on the plate where the TV is hooked up, if the LED is on the booster is on. You will want it off if you are using cabe or satellite.

Aaron
__________________

__________________
There is madness to my methods
2015 Coleman CM16FBS(traded) 2016 Concord 300DS
2015 Ford Fusion Hybrid following along
wahoonc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2015, 07:56 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Milan
Posts: 15
Indiana
Aaron,
Thanks for the quick reply. I had dish install my reciever and he disconnected the coax cables from the plate. There is only 2 wires attached to the plate. They are not coax. what type of wire is radio anttena?
Thanks
ttfo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2015, 09:45 PM   #4
Site Team
 
wahoonc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Sprung Leak
Posts: 3,138
North Carolina
I am pretty sure that the stereo uses a coax. On my unit the stereo coax is white vs the standard black. MIght need to pull the stereo and see what is on the backside of it.

Aaron
__________________
There is madness to my methods
2015 Coleman CM16FBS(traded) 2016 Concord 300DS
2015 Ford Fusion Hybrid following along
wahoonc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2015, 08:19 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Milan
Posts: 15
Indiana
Aaron,
Thanks .. There is a white coax, but the dish guy disconnected it. I think I will connect it back and then see what happens.
ttfo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2015, 10:03 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Milan
Posts: 15
Indiana
The white cable was connected to the bedroom tv. I am now convinced that they did not hook up the stereo. I will pull it out and see what's up.

Thanks
ttfo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2015, 11:59 PM   #7
Member
 
Moogal78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Enterprise
Posts: 49
Alabama
ttfo, I'm not sure what model Dutchmen you have, but my Voltage has two stereo systems. The DVD player/Stereo unit Under the living room TV (connected to the surround sound) uses a small wire antenna that is run from the back of the unit, and attached to a wall stud behind the entertainment system. It was accessible from behind the front bathroom cabinet. I still haven't found the antenna for the DIN sized stereo/ DVD player in the garage.
__________________

2013 Voltage 3895
2011 Ford F-350 DRW w/ Firestone airbags and heavy duty compressor, Edge Insight CTS, Curt Q24
Moogal78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2015, 01:21 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
eightydo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 592
Nevada
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moogal78 View Post
ttfo, I'm not sure what model Dutchmen you have, but my Voltage has two stereo systems. The DVD player/Stereo unit Under the living room TV (connected to the surround sound) uses a small wire antenna that is run from the back of the unit, and attached to a wall stud behind the entertainment system. It was accessible from behind the front bathroom cabinet. I still haven't found the antenna for the DIN sized stereo/ DVD player in the garage.
Garage radio is attached to TV antenna (coax)
__________________

2017 Dodge Ram 3500 DRW
2014 Voltage 3200
2005 FLHTCI
eightydo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2015, 03:26 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Milan
Posts: 15
Indiana
Moogal78/eightydo,
I have a model 323rets. There is a coax connection behind the tv in the "living" area. I only have 1 stereo. The plate contains 3 coax connections and 2 wires and a Booster switch. 1 is blue and white and is attached to connector marked "Power" the other one is white and connected to "GND". The dish guy disconnected the coax wires. I did trace them out and 1 is the main tv, the other runs to the bedroom tv and the 3rd runs to an outside tv connection. So I am assuming that the stereo is not connected anywhere. I am going to pull the stereo and see what I find.

THANKS....
ttfo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2015, 04:47 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Milan
Posts: 15
Indiana
Ok, here is what I found out. I pulled the stereo and there is a antenna cable attached to the stereo that it connected to a splitter. 3 coax out of splitter all White. They all go into the wall. any idea where they go from there?
ttfo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2015, 04:24 AM   #11
Member
 
Moogal78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Enterprise
Posts: 49
Alabama
Well, I think our units are wired differently. The backside of my DIN stereo in the garage is hooked via HDMI to the garage TV, and hooked to the outside TV via RCA cables. Is the splitter you're describing on the backside of your Wineguard plate? I know that on my unit, a satellite receiver gets hooked up to the wall plate with the short jumper next to the Wineguard plate. Are you having a problem with TV or stereo reception? If so, I'm hoping someone familiar with your unit will chime in......
__________________

2013 Voltage 3895
2011 Ford F-350 DRW w/ Firestone airbags and heavy duty compressor, Edge Insight CTS, Curt Q24
Moogal78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2015, 08:47 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Milan
Posts: 15
Indiana
thanks moogal78,
it is wired differently. just antenna out of the back of the stereo, then into a splitter then all wires into the wall.
ttfo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2015, 10:36 PM   #13
Site Team
 
wahoonc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Sprung Leak
Posts: 3,138
North Carolina
Quote:
Originally Posted by ttfo View Post
thanks moogal78,
it is wired differently. just antenna out of the back of the stereo, then into a splitter then all wires into the wall.
Is the splitter labeled? Got a picture? My guess is one lead goes (or should go) to the antenna. What type of antenna do you have? Do you have a TV plug with a booster on it?

Aaron
__________________
There is madness to my methods
2015 Coleman CM16FBS(traded) 2016 Concord 300DS
2015 Ford Fusion Hybrid following along
wahoonc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2015, 10:36 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Thom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Youngstown
Posts: 643
Florida
Just curious, when the dish installer hooked it up, did he leave a short (maybe 12") piece of coax hooked up between two wall plates? It should be real close to your antenna amplifier switch. Both the rvs I have owned you needed that jumper hooked up if you wanted signals to go to other receivers. I remember some posted a schematic once that showed the satillite dish hooks into the bottom connector of the two plates, and you had to take it back off and put the jumper back for anything OTA.
Thom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2015, 10:20 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Milan
Posts: 15
Indiana
I traced the white coax. It looks like that is the antenna coax (white) for the entire system.

I have 1 stereo and 3 tv hookups ( living room, bedroom, outside)
The plate in the living Room has 3 coax connecters and a booster. The coax are marked "Cable", "Set-2", "antenna". there is a power and ground wire.
There are 3 coax coming out of the wall. 2 black and 1 white. I traced the white coax and it runs to a splitter behind the stereo. 3 wires on the splitter. 1 runs to living room plate(above), 1 runs to the bedroom wall plate and the 3rd runs to the outside jack.

The dish guy disconnected all coax from the plate in the living room and connected the main input coax "Cable" to his sat coax, He connect his second tv output to the white (antenna coax) and the "Set-2 coax with a splitter. No coax are connected to the living room plate.

With NO coax connected to the plate in the living room, the Booster light come on. I disconnected the white (antenna) coax from the dish and connected to the to the back of the living room plate marked "antenna". the booster light goes out. I connected the stereo antenna directly to the booster bypassing all splitters and it still goes out.

Any ideas???
ttfo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2015, 10:29 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Milan
Posts: 15
Indiana
ok...
I got it.....
Th 3 wires coming from the wall behind the living room plate is as follows:
The main coax (black)goes to the "cable" the white coax go to "Set-2" and the 3rd (black) coax go to " antenna".


So in order to get my dish to work and my stereo to have an outside antenna, I will need to:
Disconnect my stereo antenna from the splitter behind the stereo.
Run a new coax from my stereo antenna to the "set-2" port on the plate.

It should not be this difficult. Dutchman should add a "satellite" connector that bypasses the antenna.
ttfo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2015, 11:49 PM   #17
Site Team
 
wahoonc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Sprung Leak
Posts: 3,138
North Carolina
Quote:
Originally Posted by ttfo View Post
It should not be this difficult. Dutchman should add a "satellite" connector that bypasses the antenna.
But that would cut into their profit margins!

Aaron
__________________
There is madness to my methods
2015 Coleman CM16FBS(traded) 2016 Concord 300DS
2015 Ford Fusion Hybrid following along
wahoonc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2015, 02:41 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Milan
Posts: 15
Indiana
Thanks to all!!!
ttfo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2015, 03:09 AM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Corona
Posts: 12
California
OK, just joined this forum and already need help! i cannot connect my direct TV to my trailer. the only way it works is if i do not connect my satellite to the outdoor RV coax connector and go straight to the Satellite box. the manual says to disconnect the six inch loop connected to the dual coax connector next to the power booster. that would be great accept there is no dual connector inside or outside the entire trailer..... Im thinking i just cant locate it. could really use some ideas
pradousmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2015, 01:09 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Nana & Poppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Old Forge
Posts: 886
New York
PRADOUSMC, it always helps to list what model trailer you have...

RV Year and Model
2007 24Q-SSL

You can add it to your signature, like a lot of us have done!

I know nothing about direct tv, as we hardly watch tv while we are camping!
__________________

__________________
Kathy & Leo ~Adirondack Mtn. Region of NY
2013 Rubicon 2900 Toy hauler
2010 Ford F-350 4x4 Lariat Dually Super Crew Diesel
Nana & Poppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×