Norcold N611v no ac power - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Brand RVs > General RV Related Discussions
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-26-2017, 04:49 PM   #1
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Clinton Corners
Posts: 9
New York
Norcold N611v no ac power

Hey all, I have a New Aerolite and as I am opening it up and getting ready for our first trip, my fridge will only run on propane... I have the automatic fridge and it says if it detects a.c. power it will default to that. I have it plugged into my house with a reducer and was wondering if there might not be enough current or am I missing something or do I have a problem??? I have power to the plug in the compartment, fuses all good and no faults. Any ideas??? Thanks!!
__________________

Stevem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2017, 06:06 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,847
Oklahoma
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stevem View Post
Hey all, I have a New Aerolite and as I am opening it up and getting ready for our first trip, my fridge will only run on propane... I have the automatic fridge and it says if it detects a.c. power it will default to that. I have it plugged into my house with a reducer and was wondering if there might not be enough current or am I missing something or do I have a problem??? I have power to the plug in the compartment, fuses all good and no faults. Any ideas??? Thanks!!

Push and release the ON/OFF button [30] to start the
refrigerator (See Art02410).
- If the indicator light [185] glows solid green, it means
that:
- 120 volt AC power is available to the refrigerator.
- The refrigerator is operating on AC electric
power.
- If the indicator light [185] glows solid amber, it means
that:
- 120 volt AC power is not available to the refrigerator.
- The refrigerator is operating on propane gas.
- If the indicator light [185] glows solid red, it means that:
- There is a problem and the refrigerator is not cooling.
__________________

__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2017, 07:33 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Ft. Pierce
Posts: 312
Florida
What is a reducer?
Handyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2017, 08:16 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Elizabethtown
Posts: 24
Pennsylvania
Quote:
Originally Posted by Handyman View Post
What is a reducer?
I would take it he means a 30 amp to 15 amp connector being he has connected to house power
bedrck46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2017, 03:41 AM   #5
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Clinton Corners
Posts: 9
New York
Yeah 30 amp to 15 amp connector... When plugged into the house I only get a solid amber light and it starts up on propane... I'm starting to think I'm missing a ground somewhere, possibly from the house... I'm going to start up the generator and see if I get a.c. power there
Stevem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2017, 02:01 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Ft. Pierce
Posts: 312
Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stevem View Post
Yeah 30 amp to 15 amp connector... When plugged into the house I only get a solid amber light and it starts up on propane... I'm starting to think I'm missing a ground somewhere, possibly from the house... I'm going to start up the generator and see if I get a.c. power there
An open ground will not cause your symptoms. In addition to the excellent advice from Sundancer, you should use a voltmeter to check the voltage right at the receptacle where the fridge connects. If 110 there, then you have a fridge problem, if not, you have a power supply problem.
Handyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2017, 11:11 PM   #7
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Clinton Corners
Posts: 9
New York
I have 110 at the outlet so looks like a fridge problem... A bit disappointing as this is the 1st time the New TT has been plugged in. �� thanks for all your responses, they are appreciated!
Stevem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2017, 01:06 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,847
Oklahoma
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stevem View Post
I have 110 at the outlet so looks like a fridge problem... A bit disappointing as this is the 1st time the New TT has been plugged in. �� thanks for all your responses, they are appreciated!
It is disappointing but the dealer can fix it. The refrigerator won't use that much LP while on your trip. Some of us fire them up on LP while on the road to a destination until we get parked but still, it won't kill your trip.
__________________

__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×