2 power outlet dead - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Brand RVs > General RV Related Discussions
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-06-2014, 01:00 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Maple Grove
Posts: 28
Quebec
2 power outlet dead

Hello,

I have a 2014 Kodiak 240BHSL and 2 of the 110V power outlet just went dead while I'm at a campground.

I went to plug my laptop in the outlet located below the storage closet between the dinette and bunk bed and nothing.

While trying to figure it out, I noticed that the one for the TV also went dead.

All the others are fine and working.

The GFI is working. All the breakers are ok.

Any advice as to where or what I should look for?

Thanks foe your help!
__________________

__________________

2010 F-150 Lariat, 5.4L
2014 Kodiak 240 BHSL
gadou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2014, 01:10 AM   #2
Site Team
 
wahoonc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Sprung Leak
Posts: 3,138
North Carolina
Sounds like a connection has broken. Can you carefully pull the plug cover off and see if there is a loose wire? Unplug the trailer first. Typically they run the power from one plug to the next then on to the next in line.

Aaron
__________________

__________________
There is madness to my methods
2015 Coleman CM16FBS(traded) 2016 Concord 300DS
2015 Ford Fusion Hybrid following along
wahoonc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2014, 08:39 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Maple Grove
Posts: 28
Quebec
Thanks for the info Aaron,

There was actually 2 problem that I found...

First there was a loose wire in my GFI outlet. But that did not solve my problem.

The problem was in my electrical pannel. I found out that the outlet that stopped working were not protected by the GFI and that my fridge had also stop working on 110V.

There's an employee at Dutchmen who deserve an employee of the month award... who cut a wire a few inches too short too make it to the breaker, so he spliced it and that splice became loose.

When I get back home I'll re check every single connection that I can see or find.

Thanks again for the help!
__________________

2010 F-150 Lariat, 5.4L
2014 Kodiak 240 BHSL
gadou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2014, 08:59 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
DesertRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Desert Hot Springs
Posts: 1,760
California
Glad you found the problem & was able to fix it.
__________________
Mike
2002 42' Monaco Signature Triple Crown tow 2014 F-150
2014 Voltage V3605 Sold 5/3/17
2012 F-350 6.7l CC 4X4, Sold 10/10/17
DesertRat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2014, 09:48 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
eightydo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 592
Nevada
When you get home get a junction box to preform the splice in. So it will be up to code. Fire hazard if it is not in a box. Also get a cover for the box.
__________________

2017 Dodge Ram 3500 DRW
2014 Voltage 3200
2005 FLHTCI
eightydo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2014, 11:21 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Tucson
Posts: 744
Arizona
Up to code? What code?
__________________
2014 Voltage 3600
2013 Chevy 3500 CC DRW
2011 Harley Ultra Limited 2016 RZR 900
azdryheat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2014, 11:57 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,847
Oklahoma
What code? NFC, NPC, UBC, NEC or the code of the visually impaired?

A junction box with cover is a good idea however, depending on where it's located you might want to use a weather-proof box.
__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2014, 12:00 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,847
Oklahoma
Quote:
Originally Posted by eightydo View Post
When you get home get a junction box to preform the splice in. So it will be up to code. Fire hazard if it is not in a box. Also get a cover for the box.
I know you've pulled your switch panel and have seen the numerous wire nuts holding all sizes of wires back there.

That's just one place where wire nuts are used in a Voltage.
__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2014, 12:05 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Maple Grove
Posts: 28
Quebec
There is no room for a box. The splice is inside the converter right next to the breakers. There was probably about 3 or 4 inches missing. If I can pull the wire out, I will put a brand new one with no splice.

I have fixed. It will be safe. But I will make it safer once I get home.

Thanks again for the great help!!
__________________

2010 F-150 Lariat, 5.4L
2014 Kodiak 240 BHSL
gadou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2014, 01:11 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
eightydo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 592
Nevada
Quote:
Originally Posted by sundancer 87 View Post
What code? NFC, NPC, UBC, NEC or the code of the visually impaired?

A junction box with cover is a good idea however, depending on where it's located you might want to use a weather-proof box.
I know Duckman uses code for Visually Impaired. I meant NEC.
__________________

2017 Dodge Ram 3500 DRW
2014 Voltage 3200
2005 FLHTCI
eightydo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2014, 11:11 AM   #11
Site Team
 
wahoonc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Sprung Leak
Posts: 3,138
North Carolina
Dutchmen builds to it's own standards... low.

I wonder if you could get their RVIA approvals pulled by listing all the crap they pull?

Aaron
__________________
There is madness to my methods
2015 Coleman CM16FBS(traded) 2016 Concord 300DS
2015 Ford Fusion Hybrid following along
wahoonc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2014, 12:49 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,847
Oklahoma
Quote:
Originally Posted by eightydo View Post
I know Duckman uses code for Visually Impaired. I meant NEC.
I've used the NEC from time to time but I never had the occasion to use the Braille edition.
__________________

__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×