Identify wiring for camera - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Technical | Towing, Maintenance and Repairs > Modifications and Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-09-2017, 03:03 AM   #1
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Austin
Posts: 3
Texas
Identify wiring for camera

I purchased a backup camera for my 2018 Dutchman Aerolite 282DBHS. The trailer is supposedly wired for a camera, but when I pulled the middle clearance light, I didn't see any loose wires. Are there generally extra wires for that or do they just call it "camera prep" and expect ya to pull power from the light itself?

Here's what I saw when I pulled the lights btw.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0068.jpg
Views:	102
Size:	53.3 KB
ID:	4342  
__________________

jaybsauceda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2017, 09:33 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Ft. Pierce
Posts: 312
Florida
Just connect to the hot wire on the light. Most do not have separate camera wires.
__________________

Handyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 12:06 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
eightydo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 592
Nevada
Quote:
Originally Posted by Handyman View Post
Just connect to the hot wire on the light. Most do not have separate camera wires.
If he hooks up to that wire from the light it will only work when he is hooked up and lights on for the cameras to work.
__________________

2017 Dodge Ram 3500 DRW
2014 Voltage 3200
2005 FLHTCI
eightydo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2017, 01:00 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Ft. Pierce
Posts: 312
Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by eightydo View Post
If he hooks up to that wire from the light it will only work when he is hooked up and lights on for the cameras to work.
That is true but all one has to do to view the camera is turn the lights on. Most TT cameras are wired this way.
Handyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2017, 09:27 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
ArmyVeteran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Aiken
Posts: 548
South Carolina
Back Up Prep

We have a 2018 Kodiak and that Back Up Camera prep is wired for Power. It looks like this.

https://store.lci1.com/mounting-bracket-frcbrkt-bl

Good luck.

Bill
ArmyVeteran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2018, 02:50 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Mounds
Posts: 11
Oklahoma
I ended up just adding a GoPro mount to the back of the camper and using the bluetooth to my phone as a backup. It works okay I guess, the fish eye effect of the camera takes some getting used to, and of course you have to make sure you keep the camera and phone charged or its useless. I already had all the stuff so it was by far the cheapest way to go.
__________________

Noel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT. The time now is 02:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.