Voltage 3905 AC not blowing very strong - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Brand RVs > Toy Hauler
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-01-2014, 07:55 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Chandler
Posts: 45
Arizona
Voltage 3905 AC not blowing very strong

How can I tell if I'm getting the correct CFM? I cleaned 2 dirty intake filters above the kitchen and living room registers. Are there others?
All vents are open. A little air is coming out all if them, I doubt it would blow a candle out though!
Thanks for your help! I tried searching this forum but because of the placement if the search bar, all I kept doing was pressing the Hulu advertisement.
__________________

jdmedhurst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2014, 08:06 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,828
Oklahoma
You are suffering from the dreaded leaky duct work problem with the AC. Basically you need to remove, or have removed, the AC unit and reseal the duct work distribution box. It's directly beneath the AC so you don't have to disconnect any wires.

I suggest marking the outside of the AC where it sits on the roof. That makes it easier to align the bolt holes when reassembling.

There's a very long thread regarding this procedure. I'll try and find it for you.
__________________

__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2014, 08:09 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,828
Oklahoma
Air conditioners, the vent ducts are not working!!!

I don't think anyone of us know the real CFM, or care, as long as we get some measureable air movement from the outlets.
__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2014, 10:13 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Chandler
Posts: 45
Arizona
Is this a relatively easy job? I can get up in roof easily enough.
How does this happen and will it happen again or will my fix somehow be more durable than the OEM first job?
jdmedhurst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2014, 10:32 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,828
Oklahoma
Relatively easy, hardest part is lifting the AC out of the way. It's not heavy but that's relative also.

More durable than OEM? Why sir, that's why you will be up there, OEM sucks as you will see when you lift the AC.

There are suggestions as to what tape to use so you may or may not have it happen again but if it does you'll know where to look.
__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2014, 02:35 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
eightydo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 592
Nevada
I uploaded three pictures in my photos (Duct) hope this helps.
__________________

__________________

2017 Dodge Ram 3500 DRW
2014 Voltage 3200
2005 FLHTCI
eightydo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT. The time now is 08:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.