AC trouble - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Technical | Towing, Maintenance and Repairs > Heating, Cooling and Appliances
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-05-2019, 05:22 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Ridgway
Posts: 312
Colorado
AC trouble

Hi all, I have 2 Dometic AC units on the roof of my MH. Both are doing the exact same thing.
I turn on the AC (front, rear or both it doesn't matter) the fan comes on the compressor kicks in and I've got cold air blowing perfectly. However, every time after about 3 minutes the compressor shuts off. The fan keeps blowing but the air gets progressively warmer and the pump never comes back on. If I shut it down then restart it does the exact same thing, compressor works for 3 minutes then shuts off.
Any idea's or guidance is appreciated!
__________________

rcharrette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2019, 12:12 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Roselle
Posts: 1,163
Illinois
Is your fan setting on both A/C's set to automatic instead of on?
Rusty
__________________

__________________
2015 Black F-350 Platinum Diesel Dually Crew Cab
2019 Riverstone Legacy 38MB (Full Paint/All Options)
2015 Voltage 3990 (Full Paint, All Options) Sold 6/18
2005 Harley Ultra Classic w/too many miles
lcv800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2019, 02:10 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Ridgway
Posts: 312
Colorado
Hi, thanks for the reply. Iíve actually tried it both ways several times. It makes no difference.
Whatís really got me confused is both units are doing this. So either both have the exact same problem ( possible but doubtful) or itís something upstream that feeds to both units. What could that be? Iím working on getting a wiring diagram at the moment.
rcharrette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2019, 02:33 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,858
Oklahoma
My A/C guy told me they put R40 or some R number in the units that weren't sealed for R40. It did the same as when 134A was added to R12 units, seals leaked and units failed.

There is enough refrigerant in the unit to get it started but after the refrigerant gets in circulation the low pressure switch kicks in and shuts the compressor down, therefore the hot air.



My zone 2 A/C does that so I'll have my guy come out and shove some gas in it until such time I replace the unit.


https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=...xwfYd_L1eb-b05
__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2019, 08:55 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: tampa
Posts: 1,877
Florida
the units are sealed and i do not believe gas can be added.

Have you checked your power to see how much draw you have? if the unit overheats from not enough power, it will shut down. I had this issue when I used an underpowered generator.
franktafl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2019, 09:03 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,858
Oklahoma
Quote:
Originally Posted by franktafl View Post
the units are sealed and i do not believe gas can be added.

Well Frank, the dealer would want you to believe they can't be recharged so they can sell you a new unit.
The A/Cs weren't born with gas in them, it had to be added after all was assembled.
A simple inline port can be sweated in the low pressure side to provide for charging.
__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2019, 09:43 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: tampa
Posts: 1,877
Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by sundancer 87 View Post
Well Frank, the dealer would want you to believe they can't be recharged so they can sell you a new unit.
The A/Cs weren't born with gas in them, it had to be added after all was assembled.
A simple inline port can be sweated in the low pressure side to provide for charging.
what are the chances that both of your ac's are low on refrigerant?
franktafl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2019, 11:00 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Roselle
Posts: 1,163
Illinois
sundancer87 is right on. RV'er next to me had it done on his unit in Fort Myers Beach.
Rusty
__________________
2015 Black F-350 Platinum Diesel Dually Crew Cab
2019 Riverstone Legacy 38MB (Full Paint/All Options)
2015 Voltage 3990 (Full Paint, All Options) Sold 6/18
2005 Harley Ultra Classic w/too many miles
lcv800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2019, 12:40 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: tampa
Posts: 1,877
Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by lcv800 View Post
sundancer87 is right on. RV'er next to me had it done on his unit in Fort Myers Beach.
Rusty
I think it depends on how old the AC is. I looked at mine and a portion of it is completely covered in aluminum and you can't see the compressor. but... maybe there's a way. I noticed on the older units that they kinda look like a regular AC unit and you can add a port to the low side line.
franktafl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2019, 02:57 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Ridgway
Posts: 312
Colorado
Thanks everyone for the replies, this is a MH, 2018. I had my last camper for 5 year so we are working through the "new camper quality issues". The dealer is 2 months out to get me in and look at the AC so I'm trying to research it myself and put it out here to see if it's something I can handle. I'm probably going to call Dometic tech support next week and see what they say. I need to climb up there and check the voltage next for sure. Need to find a Youtube video how to do that Thanks again!
rcharrette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2019, 03:53 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: oshkosh
Posts: 36
Wisconsin
Not being totally familiar with your RV multiple AC system, Are both units running simultaneously and both controlled by one thermostat? If so, I would look at the thermostat.
Thermostat could be shutting down power to the compressors, and when you shut off the AC and restart it, you could be resetting it. Good Luck
wis-redneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2019, 05:50 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Benton
Posts: 150
Tennessee
You can use a clamp-on piercing valve or a sweat-on valve to charge these rv units. As far as a low pressure switch, I have never seen one on an rv rooftop unit. Not saying they ain't out there but I have never seen one.
__________________
2015 V 3305
2006 Dodge Ram 3500 Cummins 6-speed manual
2002 Goldwing Trike
2012 EZ-GO 2FIVE LSV 2014 Gem E4 LSV
3wheeler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2019, 11:29 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Highland
Posts: 25
California
Do they share a single thermostat?
Will59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2019, 11:48 PM   #14
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: gilmer
Posts: 7
Texas
My A/C in the brand new camper did the same thing. I adjusted the thermostat limiter on the thermostat itself. I could only cool the camper to 74 degrees, Now it will cool to 68 degrees interior temperature. I only adjusted mine a small amount, may do it some more later if the summer demands it. this site will help you understand it. https://www.thefitrv.com/rv-tips/mak...nditioner-mod/
moconnor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2019, 02:07 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Port Orange
Posts: 16
Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by franktafl View Post
what are the chances that both of your ac's are low on refrigerant?
I had 2 out of 3 low on refrigerant at the same time. I added a valve and then Freon. They work great now.
hbens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2019, 03:07 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: oshkosh
Posts: 36
Wisconsin
Quote:
Originally Posted by hbens View Post
I had 2 out of 3 low on refrigerant at the same time. I added a valve and then Freon. They work great now.
Questions would be, How did you determine they were low charge? Why were they low charge? Did you checks for leaks and repair any leaks found? Did you just add freon and call it good?
wis-redneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2019, 06:23 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Port Orange
Posts: 16
Florida
I just installed the valves and split a can between the front and rear AC units. I used the middle unit all the time and these two almost never. I use all three all the time now. I don't know if lack of use was the issue.
I call it good until it isn't anymore. We'll see if this last longer than 4.5 years.
I suspected they were low charge by reading articles and posts on forums and my experience with other AC units. I ordered the parts, Freon and gauge and when I hooked up the gauge my suspicions were confirmed. Cold air is blowing now.
__________________

__________________
2014 RAM Mega Cab 4X4 DRW AISIN 4:10
2014 Voltage 3895 Epic III
2012 Screamin Eagle Street Glide - Lots of performance upgrades! S&S 124" stroker kit & 66mm throttle body, big valves, port & polish...She screams performance!
hbens is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×