"Trailer Disconnected" despite lights working - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Technical | Towing, Maintenance and Repairs > Electrical, Batteries, Charging and Electronics
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-31-2019, 07:02 PM   #1
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Pulaski
Posts: 7
Tennessee
"Trailer Disconnected" despite lights working

I have a 2017 Ford F-250 and a 2017 Dutchman Kodiak 37' TT. For the last year, when I plug the 7 pin connector into the truck, the truck detects the trailer, correctly identifies it as the Kodiak, and everything works (lights, electric brake controller, battery charging).

As of last week, when I plug in the 7 pin connector, the truck does not detect anything or even recognize that a trailer is connected. If I manually select that the Kodiak is connected, it throws up the "Trailer Disconnected" message as soon as I exercise the brake controller (either through the pedal or the manual brake slider). However, the trailer lights and signals all work even when the truck says there's no trailer connected.

I took my truck to a friend's TT and plugged it in and the truck immediately detects the trailer correctly, then I brought her truck over to my TT and her truck is not able to detect the trailer either, so it's clearly a problem with the Kodiak.

Any ideas on what is wrong? I checked all the fuses, though none are labeled to have anything to do with that, and all are fine.

TIA!
__________________

mrtroy32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2019, 07:42 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
ATCguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Somewhere on the road...
Posts: 1,286
Wyoming
If you're not even getting trailer lights when you plug it in now, then you've probably got a problem with the RV pigtail... either the plug itself, the wiring in the pigtail, or the wiring in the junction box where the pigtail connects with the rig. Something's obviously become disconnected... either via a broken wire, or just a wire connector that's unplugged somewhere along that line.
__________________

__________________
Tom
2013 VOLTAGE 3200 (EPIC I & II)
2014 Ford F-450 PLATINUM
2017 BMW R1200GS Rallye
ATCguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2019, 11:28 PM   #3
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Pulaski
Posts: 7
Tennessee
That's just it, I am getting lights when I plug it in, it's just not detected and the electric brakes aren't working. The pin out diagram from Dutchman shows which pin is responsible for the electric brakes, i suppose just that one wire could be compromised somewhere, I might have to check into that.
mrtroy32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2019, 11:34 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
ATCguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Somewhere on the road...
Posts: 1,286
Wyoming
Yeah, we just had a discussion about brakes a couple weeks ago. Check out the posts in this thread:

Intermittent Trailer Brake Issue.
__________________
Tom
2013 VOLTAGE 3200 (EPIC I & II)
2014 Ford F-450 PLATINUM
2017 BMW R1200GS Rallye
ATCguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2019, 11:39 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,817
Oklahoma
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtroy32 View Post
That's just it, I am getting lights when I plug it in, it's just not detected and the electric brakes aren't working. The pin out diagram from Dutchman shows which pin is responsible for the electric brakes, i suppose just that one wire could be compromised somewhere, I might have to check into that.

Good luck with finding the problem. My Chevy nags me about 'service trailer brake system' without a trailer connected. The problems range from dirty 7 pin connections to brake controllers to brake light switches to defective plugs and even front wheel speed sensor.
Trailer lights will work but the brake is a different circuit. It's usually a heavy blue wire if that helps.
Forgot to mention the 30 or 40 amp fuse or relay under the hood.
__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2019, 12:28 AM   #6
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Pulaski
Posts: 7
Tennessee
Quote:
Originally Posted by ATCguy View Post
Yeah, we just had a discussion about brakes a couple weeks ago. Check out the posts in this thread:

Intermittent Trailer Brake Issue.
I saw that one but I'll go ahead and read the whole thing, thx!

I actually used to get a "Trailer Wiring Fault" message, and I found that one of the wires to the electric brakes was rubbing the tire and had worn off the insulation, causing a short. I taped it up and the problem went away, that was actually the first thing I checked with this problem too.
mrtroy32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2019, 12:32 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Okeana
Posts: 164
Ohio
I had that same problem. One of the connections is loose. On mine the installers stripped the insulation and the crimp connector was not hitting the wires. The truck's brake controller needs to detect the resistance from the brakes.
-Jeff
__________________
2014 F-250 6.7 with Timbrens
2015 Voltage 3605
jeffwelsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2019, 05:57 AM   #8
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Pulaski
Posts: 7
Tennessee
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffwelsh View Post
I had that same problem. One of the connections is loose. On mine the installers stripped the insulation and the crimp connector was not hitting the wires. The truck's brake controller needs to detect the resistance from the brakes.
-Jeff
can i use a voltmeter to test that pin at the plug before I go tearing through the underbelly?
mrtroy32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2019, 06:59 AM   #9
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Pulaski
Posts: 7
Tennessee
I found the lippert electric brakes manual, and there's a fairly comprehensive troubleshooting section with great instructions for an electrical novice like myself: https://lci-support-doc.s3.amazonaws...cd_0001730.pdf
mrtroy32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2019, 04:12 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: tampa
Posts: 1,769
Florida
Mine did the same thing only I have four locations to look for the mystery fuse or breaker.. found it under the hood about four feet from the regular furs block. Check your connections first. Did you plug your friends trailer into your truck?
__________________

franktafl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT. The time now is 02:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.