Inverter question - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Technical | Towing, Maintenance and Repairs > Electrical, Batteries, Charging and Electronics
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-31-2015, 02:24 AM   #1
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Folsom
Posts: 3
California
Inverter question

I have a 2013 voltage 3905 I would like to add a 5k inverter. I have 4 - 6volts 215 amphours each. They are set up in series/parallel. Has any one added an inverter and did you add a second transfer switch?
__________________

jblatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2015, 11:18 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
donzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Memphis
Posts: 1,448
Michigan
I just finished my inverter install a couple of weeks ago. Used the factory transfer switch. Lookat post 505 here Show off your Mods
__________________

__________________
2014-3950, Full Paint, 17.5" tires, 370W solar, 3100W Magnum inverter w/ AGS, 7500w diesel generator, Micro-Air Easy Start 364 (x3)
2019 Ram 3500 Limited w/ Max Tow pkg
donzinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2015, 05:01 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Helena, MT
Posts: 461
Montana
5k inverter? As in 5000 watts? If you are going to pull 5000 watts you'll need more batteries and a way to recharge them all. Your battery setup would support a 2000 watt inverter pretty well which would power everything except an air conditioner.

I don't bother with a transfer switch, I just plug my shore power cable into the inverter 120 AC outlet. Converter is shut off at the breaker and fridge and w/h on propane.
__________________
2012 Aspen Trail 2710BH | 280 watts of solar on the roof | 2x6V GC batteries | 100% LED lighting | 1500 & 300 watt PSW inverters | so far strictly boondocking
ewarnerusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2015, 09:36 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
ewacowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Mead
Posts: 147
Washington
Quote:
Originally Posted by jblatch View Post
I have a 2013 voltage 3905 I would like to add a 5k inverter. I have 4 - 6volts 215 amphours each. They are set up in series/parallel. Has any one added an inverter and did you add a second transfer switch?
I installed a Magnum MS2812 in our Voltage with 4 Lifeline 6V batteries. I installed the Magnum remote and battery monitor with it as well as a sub-panel electrical box to run all outlets, fireplace and microwave. I disconnected the convertor and left it in the coach for emergency use/resale if I ever sell the coach. I plan on installing two or three solar panels and charger next year as funds allow. I don't think you'll get enough out of your battery bank to run 5K worth of electrical. The MS2812 gives us plenty of power. We also replaced all the light bulbs to LEDs which really cuts down on the draw.

Hope that helps
__________________
2015 Voltage 3305
2007 Freightliner M2 Business Class

Happiness is an old pickup truck, a good dog and an understanding woman....
ewacowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×