Schwintek motor retention screw - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Brand RVs > General RV Related Discussions
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-12-2014, 02:50 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
HornedToad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Midland
Posts: 606
Texas
Schwintek motor retention screw

I've read several post about problems with the Schwintek slides... yesterday I heard a new one, so I thought I'd pass it on.

Picking up some supplies at a local RV dealer I noticed the Shadow Cruiser TTs they carried have Schwintek slides... so I ask'd about the dealers experience.

He said the problem they've had is if the retention screw comes loose on the motor it twist causing the spur gear to shred the gear rack.

My slides have worked great so far. I follow three rules I picked up on this forum...

1. Only operate if level
2. Only operate on generator or shore power
3. Routinely lube the gears

Now I'll also check that the set screw is torqued down.

Below is a photo of the set screw I pulled off irv.com and a link from Lippert customer service.

http://lci1.com/assets/content/suppo...embly_Page.pdf
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Set Screw.jpg
Views:	426
Size:	43.2 KB
ID:	1676  
__________________

__________________

Mike & Helen
2014 Voltage 3895 EPIC III
2013 Ford F350 CC DRW FX4
HornedToad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2014, 01:39 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Goshen
Posts: 363
Indiana
I'll agree with #1 & #3, I'll even check the set screw.

Schwintec motors are 12 volt. So, why would it matter whether your on shore or generator power. Just asking. I've never had an issue with being off shore power while operating the schwintec slides. Could it be that my batteries are charged correctly versus other peoples?
__________________

__________________
Dave

2012 Dutchmen 3850RL
Infinityrver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2014, 04:44 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
HornedToad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Midland
Posts: 606
Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by Infinityrver View Post
Could it be that my batteries are charged correctly versus other peoples?
Infinity,

I'll agree with your experience and amend Rule #2...

Again I'll quote what I was told by an RV Service Technician...
(And echoed on this forum)

2. "DO NOT operate the slides with a low battery."

My rule is with AC power to the converter I know I'll have a full 12 volts of DC to the slide motors. That's why I always plug in or fire up the generator before I open my slides. I've also been told with your TV running you should get 12 volts through the 7 way.

When I visit an RV Dealership I don't want to hear BS from the Salesman up front, but I do listen to the Service Techs in the back. They'll see more trailers in a day than I'll own in my lifetime.
__________________

Mike & Helen
2014 Voltage 3895 EPIC III
2013 Ford F350 CC DRW FX4
HornedToad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2014, 05:11 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Bmxboysmom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Bakersfield
Posts: 71
California
We were also told by our service tech to only operate the slides when plugged in to power.
__________________
2014 Voltage 3895 Epic with all weather package.
Full Body Paint
2018 F450 4x4 DRW
Bmxboysmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2014, 10:25 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Goshen
Posts: 363
Indiana
Mike, you didn't have to amend. I was just curious where that info came from.

I also, have three batteries to fire up my inverter when I'm off shore power. I do have an abundance of 12 volt power that others may not.
__________________
Dave

2012 Dutchmen 3850RL
Infinityrver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2014, 12:25 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Nana & Poppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Old Forge
Posts: 886
New York
Thanks for explaining #2! There are many times we boondock and the thought of not putting out the slide went thru my mind, just because we don't have electric.


Kathy
__________________
Kathy & Leo ~Adirondack Mtn. Region of NY
2013 Rubicon 2900 Toy hauler
2010 Ford F-350 4x4 Lariat Dually Super Crew Diesel
Nana & Poppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2014, 01:09 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
HornedToad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Midland
Posts: 606
Texas
I would like to add a battery bank and inverter, so I can watch TV at night without running the genny.
My single stock battery just doesn't go that far. After just a few hours my overhead lights will start to dim yellow, the first sign I have a low battery, and if the fridge starts beeping at me I know that I have no battery and will have to use my jumper box to start the generator.

If I didn't have a generator I would at least plug the 7 way into a running vehicle before I operate the slides if I suspect a low battery condition.
__________________

Mike & Helen
2014 Voltage 3895 EPIC III
2013 Ford F350 CC DRW FX4
HornedToad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2014, 02:49 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Callaway
Posts: 864
Maryland
Thanks for the information. Pre-delighting the rig today for our trip this week...add another to the list of things to do.

To nite, I also blow the tracks out and use the Lippert recommended spray lube with success. I also follow the three rules you outlined above.

Cale
__________________
TV: 2015 F-350 DRW, CC, 4x4, with 14k GVWR package, 98 gallon TransferFlow Aux Tank, Timbren Shocks

TH: 2014 Voltage 3950, Sailun S637 all around
calewjohnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2014, 01:29 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Goshen
Posts: 363
Indiana
Talking about stock batteries.........mine came with (1) which was an automobile battery with studs and was not a deep cell. From what I have learned, that battery is used as a unit to deliver the camper to a dealer. My dealer sold this unit with that battery in it. Shame on them. I went through not being able to bring my slides back in when I traveled from Indiana to Maine upon purchasing it. Thankfully, I had a 12 v battery jumper to bring my slides in one morning during traveling.

Once home, I changed to (1) deep cell battery, as it should have had to begin with. Later, I added an inverter and two more deep cell batteries as a battery bank. This allows the DW & I to have all the 110 creature features (toaster, coffee maker, microwave, etc.) when I'm traveling to Florida & back. We didn't want to depend on the noise of a genny.

Sorry about detouring off this thread.
__________________
Dave

2012 Dutchmen 3850RL
Infinityrver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2015, 02:13 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Callaway
Posts: 864
Maryland
By chance, has anyone tightened these retention screws yet? How hard were they to get to? Did you find them loose?

Thanks,
Cale
__________________
TV: 2015 F-350 DRW, CC, 4x4, with 14k GVWR package, 98 gallon TransferFlow Aux Tank, Timbren Shocks

TH: 2014 Voltage 3950, Sailun S637 all around
calewjohnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2015, 11:44 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Goshen
Posts: 363
Indiana
Quote:
Originally Posted by calewjohnson View Post
By chance, has anyone tightened these retention screws yet? How hard were they to get to? Did you find them loose?

Thanks,
Cale
I've never messed with mine, haven't had to. Cale, do you feel that your retention screws are loose?
__________________
Dave

2012 Dutchmen 3850RL
Infinityrver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2015, 02:24 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Callaway
Posts: 864
Maryland
Quote:
Originally Posted by Infinityrver View Post
I've never messed with mine, haven't had to. Cale, do you feel that your retention screws are loose?
I have not checked mine, was looking to see if someone else may have. Everything seems to be working as advertised. When we get back home, I am going to clean the tracks real good (scrub the muck out with a toothbrush) and give everything a good once over.

Cale
__________________
TV: 2015 F-350 DRW, CC, 4x4, with 14k GVWR package, 98 gallon TransferFlow Aux Tank, Timbren Shocks

TH: 2014 Voltage 3950, Sailun S637 all around
calewjohnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2015, 03:07 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Camper2b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Nashville
Posts: 538
Tennessee
Quote:
Originally Posted by Infinityrver View Post
Cale, do you feel that your retention screws are loose?
__________________

__________________
Slim
Former 2014 Vlotage 3200 owner
Camper2b is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×