Light Panel Voltage 3200 - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Technical | Towing, Maintenance and Repairs > Modifications and Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-27-2013, 01:18 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
eightydo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 592
Nevada
Wink Light Panel Voltage 3200

I added some LEDs behind my Light control panel. I used White LEDs 3per inch with sticky tape on the back (Flexible LED Strips & LED Tubing | NTE-Electronic Components Supplier)
A small Micro switch. I got power from the cigarette power plug. also switched it with a rocker switch in a blank spot (slide #3) switches are in series.
You can find pic's @ pinterest
Voltage 3200 upgrades
__________________

eightydo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2013, 04:44 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Idaho Falls
Posts: 47
Idaho
Man I really like what you did. I think this is a better way to go than to light the top of the panel from the outside. I didn't realize that you could backlight this panel as is.
__________________

Bulldog80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2013, 06:37 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
eightydo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 592
Nevada
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bulldog80 View Post
Man I really like what you did. I think this is a better way to go than to light the top of the panel from the outside. I didn't realize that you could backlight this panel as is.
Thank you
eightydo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2013, 01:52 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
ATCguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Somewhere on the road...
Posts: 1,313
Wyoming
Hey eightydo...

I wanna tackle this project soon... but when it comes to electronics, except for stripping & connecting hot & ground wires, I'm pretty much dumb as a post. So I've got a few questions:

I clicked on the link for the LED strips... and I see them in multiple types. Some are just the strips... some are kits with power supplies (I'm assuming they just plug in somewhere?).. some are 300 per reel, some are 600.... etc.

What exactly did you get... or, better put... if I wanna duplicate your setup, what do I get?

Next... the micro switch: Where did you get yours (Radio Shack?), and where did you install it? I'm assuming right in the door frame so it comes on when you open it.

Also, did I understand you also wired it into one of the 'dead' switches in the panel, so you could turn it on & off on command? If so, how does that work with the micro-switch on the same circuit?

Finally... power supply: What cigarette power plug are you taking about? Is there one behind the panel that I don't see until I remove it? And if I get power from someplace beside the panel, I don't need a power supply that would be included in one of those kits... correct?

Like I said... I know just enough about electronics to be dangerous. If all something takes is a hot & cold wire, I can usually wire it to get it to work. But I know from installing LED's on motorcycles they also need a power load adapter... yet that doesn't seem to be the case here.

If you've got the time, can you type out a step-by-step guide that a kindergartner could understand? HA-HA If so, I'd appreciate it.

Thanks...
__________________
Tom
2013 VOLTAGE 3200 (EPIC I & II)
2014 Ford F-450 PLATINUM
2017 BMW R1200GS Rallye
ATCguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2014, 08:11 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
eightydo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 592
Nevada
Tom the lights are on the 12vDC of the back side of cigarette power plug.
I got the LED strips, Insolated solderless terminals (self strip), and Micro switch at a local Electronic supply store. If you look at LEDs there are resistors built in so you just have to have the 12v. Step by step will come soon.
__________________

2017 Dodge Ram 3500 DRW
2014 Voltage 3200
2005 FLHTCI
eightydo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2014, 08:55 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
DesertRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Desert Hot Springs
Posts: 1,760
California
For a quick & easy fix that takes no time we had a sick on 4 bulb battery powered LED light that we installed to the top of the panel. Not fancy but does light up the panel.
__________________
Mike
2002 42' Monaco Signature Triple Crown tow 2014 F-150
2014 Voltage V3605 Sold 5/3/17
2012 F-350 6.7l CC 4X4, Sold 10/10/17
DesertRat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2014, 11:08 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 183
Oklahoma
I lit the panel from the outside with a LED light. I like this setup better because it lights up the entryway in the dark. That helps me when I'm setting up in the dark.
__________________
2010 F-450
2013 Voltage 3905
macman83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2014, 11:16 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Camper2b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Nashville
Posts: 538
Tennessee
Quote:
Originally Posted by DesertRat View Post
For a quick & easy fix that takes no time we had a sick on 4 bulb battery powered LED light that we installed to the top of the panel. Not fancy but does light up the panel.
Not hacking the thread, I lit mine on the inside as others did. Much better. Desert Rat I see we're Burgman owners
__________________

__________________
Slim
Former 2014 Vlotage 3200 owner
Camper2b is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×