Digital to Analog Thermostat Mod - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Technical | Towing, Maintenance and Repairs > Modifications and Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-05-2012, 11:00 PM   #1
Community Founder
 
eRVm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 280
Digital to Analog Thermostat Mod

Change from Digital to Analog Thermostat.
__________________

eRVm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 05:15 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 31
I would also like to change to a digital stat, but there appears to be a lot of confusion as to where the fan and ground wires go.I have looked on this site and on U tube and some say to connect the red wire (7.5V input) to the jumper RhRc terminal while others put the green ground to this terminal.Also the wire colour codes appear to have changed a little over the years. I guess I will have to spend the extra and purchase a stat that is for RV only.
__________________

winglessprint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 05:32 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: East Bolton
Posts: 167
Quebec
I replaced the analog thermostat in my previous 5th-wheel (Jayco Designer) with a digital one I purchased for about $20 at Walmart. The thermostat itself was powered by its own batteries (2 AA cells if I remember well). I just followed the directions and it all worked fine for controlling both the furnace and AC. The only issue I remember is that since the new thermostat had no switch for fan speed, you had to pick the speed you liked and that was always the speed used. Before doing this, I was told by a Camping World guy that you had to use a special thermostat and that there might be mods required to the AC unit itself. He wanted well over $200 to do the job.

Maybe I was just lucky, but it's food for thought!
__________________
Kevin, Barb and Jake (the Golden/Lab Mix)
East Bolton, Quebec, Canada
2012 Infinity 3640RL
2012 GMC 2500HD Diesel
kevinmiles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2013, 02:56 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 149
California
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinmiles View Post
I replaced the analog thermostat in my previous 5th-wheel (Jayco Designer) with a digital one I purchased for about $20 at Walmart. The thermostat itself was powered by its own batteries (2 AA cells if I remember well). I just followed the directions and it all worked fine for controlling both the furnace and AC. The only issue I remember is that since the new thermostat had no switch for fan speed, you had to pick the speed you liked and that was always the speed used. Before doing this, I was told by a Camping World guy that you had to use a special thermostat and that there might be mods required to the AC unit itself. He wanted well over $200 to do the job.

Maybe I was just lucky, but it's food for thought!
So you're saying the new thermostat is wired the same as the RVs wiring system? Pretty much like a residential home is set up? Interesting. You might have been lucky. There really isn't that much demand for this change, so it'll be next to impossible to know how this mod would play out on other rigs.

Food for thought.
__________________
2013 Voltage 3950
2011 Ford F350 Super Duty Dually
VoltageGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2013, 12:28 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: East Bolton
Posts: 167
Quebec
You could be right, but for about $20 it might be worth trying. Also, Walmart is very good at refunding if your purchase doesn't work for you. In my case you could pretty much tell if the wiring set-up was going to work just by comparing the wires attached to the old thermostat to the connections on the new one. Good luck if you decide to try it!
__________________
Kevin, Barb and Jake (the Golden/Lab Mix)
East Bolton, Quebec, Canada
2012 Infinity 3640RL
2012 GMC 2500HD Diesel
kevinmiles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2013, 02:24 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 149
California
I'll have to check on the Dometic unit. If it works ok, I'll probably leave it alone. But if I find a reason to upgrade, yea buddy, I'll be looking into something fancier, faster, more efficient. sleeker, more polished, higher tech, and certainly more excellent. If such a thing exists.

How about an old analog unit with a dial much like the old rotary phones? That would be pretty cool, right?
__________________
2013 Voltage 3950
2011 Ford F350 Super Duty Dually
VoltageGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2013, 02:50 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 31
The voltage on the Honeywell stats are 24V The feed wire on the Dometic is 7.5V, and of course the RV is only 12 V when running on battery.Even the new Dometic Digital say they are 12V, I wonder if this is a separate feed back to the stat from the Furnace and A/C ?
winglessprint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2013, 03:00 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 149
California
Direct current is very interesting. Many devices designed to operate on DC have operating ranges, depending on the sensitivity of the electronics. Maybe that 7.5V feed wire rated at that because it's the minimum voltage required for operation.

As voltage drops under load, many systems would shut off completely if they would only work at 12 volts. Yet they continue to operate as voltage declines, to a certain point. Motors turn more slowly, for example. Of course they don't have electronic circuits, but motors can be controlled by electronic controllers that are affected by voltage and current.

I find all of this electricity and electronic stuff very fascinating.
__________________
2013 Voltage 3950
2011 Ford F350 Super Duty Dually
VoltageGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2013, 07:54 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: East Bolton
Posts: 167
Quebec
..... all true, but note that the thermostat I installed was powered by its own batteries and hence was independent of any feed from the RV. I wish I could remember what make it was. All I can say is that it was bought at Walmart and you could have either a programmable or non-programmable version. Mine was the non-programmable one.
__________________
Kevin, Barb and Jake (the Golden/Lab Mix)
East Bolton, Quebec, Canada
2012 Infinity 3640RL
2012 GMC 2500HD Diesel
kevinmiles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2013, 08:03 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 31
All the battery does is power the digital display, thats why they last so long.The furnace reduces the voltage and feeds it back to the thermostat.
__________________

winglessprint is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


DutchmenOwners.com is not in any way associated with Dutchmen Manufacturing, or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.