NEWBIE - Storing 50amp chord - HELP - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Brand RVs > Toy Hauler
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-10-2018, 03:00 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Garrett
Posts: 77
Indiana
NEWBIE - Storing 50amp chord - HELP

I am not new to the RV world. BUT, I am new to the MASSIVE 50amp chord for my Voltage 3970. I am looking for the most convenient options. Here is what I have heard;

1. Hanging it in the front storage basement. I have heard people put "hooks" here. How massive do the hooks need to be to store the weight and where do you mount that?

2. Store it on a reel. What reel do you use? Do you mount the reel in the basement? How easy is it to recoil?

3. Leave it at home and use a 30 amp. We have three air conditioners and know that they won't run on a 30amp. I am pretty sure only one AC will work on a 30amp chord. How important is that second or third AC?

4. Just coil it and lay it in the back for travel.

5. Coil it an leave it in the TV. What about security on this VERY EXPENSIVE piece of equipment?

OTHER OPTIONS?
__________________

Rhoadzie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2018, 03:55 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
ATCguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Somewhere on the road...
Posts: 1,284
Wyoming
My Voltage came with a storage reel located in the wet-bay side basement, made by MorRyde. ( Easy Reel - Tall - MORryde Products )

I'm not sure if that was part of the EPIC package, or if they've just stopped including them with newer models. That said, I did make a couple of 'improvements' to make things even easier.

First thing I did was to obtain a slider-tray (MorRyde also makes those) that I could mount it on to make access easier. Slide it out to deploy & wind it back up... slide it back in for storage.

Next thing I did was to invest in a shorter 50-amp cord. I've only needed all 50' of the thing once or twice in 5 years... and most times, really didn't need more than 20'-25'. It got old having to unreel the entire length every place I went... so I not only bought a shorter cord, but also found one with a 90-degree plug AND a locking ring. Wasn't easy finding one like that, and for awhile the only one I could find cost over $500. Then a little over a year ago, Amazon began selling it for around $300, and I got it. Here's a link if you're interested:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I did keep my 50' cord too, just in case I ever need the extra length. I have it stored in the bed of my truck, nicely coiled & tucked in the previously unusable space beneath my cross-bed tool box.

Here are some photos:

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0634.jpg
Views:	60
Size:	56.9 KB
ID:	4720

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0635.jpg
Views:	63
Size:	59.3 KB
ID:	4721

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0636.jpg
Views:	67
Size:	60.0 KB
ID:	4722

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0639.jpg
Views:	60
Size:	55.0 KB
ID:	4723
__________________

__________________
Tom
2013 VOLTAGE 3200 (EPIC I & II)
2014 Ford F-450 PLATINUM
2017 BMW R1200GS Rallye
ATCguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2018, 05:23 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Garrett
Posts: 77
Indiana
Great! Looks like a wonderful option. I don't have the slide out but I think it will work anyway.
Rhoadzie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2018, 08:18 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Roselle
Posts: 1,127
Illinois
I also use the MORryde reel, but don't have the pull out tray. Sucks up a bit of storage space but it keeps is neat. When we're going down the road and stopping at different locations every night, I just heave the monster in the bed of the pick up.
Rusty
__________________
2015 Black F-350 Platinum Diesel Dually Crew Cab
2019 Riverstone Legacy 38MB (Full Paint/All Options)
2015 Voltage 3990 (Full Paint, All Options) Sold 6/18
2005 Harley Ultra Classic w/too many miles
lcv800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2018, 09:56 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: tampa
Posts: 1,762
Florida
I added an outside storage box for all that kinda junk (including the hoses).
franktafl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2018, 12:01 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Seffner
Posts: 176
Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by franktafl View Post
I added an outside storage box for all that kinda junk (including the hoses).


Thought about this... any pics?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
2013 VOLTAGE 3905 EPIC III
T/V: 2011 RAM 3500 DRW LONGHORN LARAMIE
FULLY DELETED AND H&S MINI MAXX, AFE INTAKE, 5" TURBO BACK
ANDERSON ULTIMATE FIFTH WHEEL CONECTION
Nate42379 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2018, 01:24 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Benton
Posts: 150
Tennessee
I use an electric reel made by Shoreline reels. I mounted it to the ceiling of the wet-bay side of my storage compartment. It says it will hold 40 feet of cord but if you roll it neat and tight you can get all 50 ft on it.
__________________
2015 V 3305
2006 Dodge Ram 3500 Cummins 6-speed manual
2002 Goldwing Trike
2012 EZ-GO 2FIVE LSV 2014 Gem E4 LSV
3wheeler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2018, 11:38 AM   #8
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Palmetto Bay
Posts: 4
Florida
This is what we use for out Denali 335RLK and it works great.

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Storage-T...&wl13=&veh=sem

We stow it under the trailer and use what we need of the cord and the rest stays in the bucket. When we are done, we coil it back into the bucket and put the whole thing in the basement. If you coil it by starting with the end that plugs into the trailer and ending with the end that goes into the pedestal, then the bucket will always be by the trailer and you wont have to pull the whole cord out every time. Just use what you need.
makolab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2018, 11:38 AM   #9
Member
 
Pinshootr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Midland
Posts: 19
Michigan
the spare 50 goes on top of the generator coiled up, and the main cord gets coiled and lays on the floor of the basement along with my 3 30 amp cords, I only get the 50's out when its really hot. Other than that I use my 30's as they will run both of my airs as long as the hot water heater or the microwave isn't i use.
Pinshootr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2018, 12:12 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: tampa
Posts: 1,762
Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nate42379 View Post
Thought about this... any pics?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
the hose was in the box (it's a spare). I'm going to get the spare tire carrier that goes underneath the coach then use the empty spaces for a generator.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	54568331837__B6F05696-7183-45C0-92F6-3EA31DB74364.jpg
Views:	63
Size:	56.6 KB
ID:	4724  
__________________

franktafl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT. The time now is 07:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.