30 Amps 110 v to 50 Amps 110 v ? - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Brand RVs > Travel Trailer
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-26-2018, 06:45 AM   #1
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Orlando
Posts: 1
Florida
30 Amps 110 v to 50 Amps 110 v ?

Hello,

My 2006 Dutchmen is 30 Amps 110 volt. Can I plug in 50 Amp 110 v at home breaker?
I try to run AC, water heater same time. Thank you for your help
__________________

poultryfarm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2018, 02:05 PM   #2
Site Team
 
wahoonc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Sprung Leak
Posts: 2,961
North Carolina
Quote:
Originally Posted by poultryfarm View Post
Hello,

My 2006 Dutchmen is 30 Amps 110 volt. Can I plug in 50 Amp 110 v at home breaker?
I try to run AC, water heater same time. Thank you for your help
Chances are good the 50 amp at home IS NOT 110/120 volts, it is probably 220.

I run my water heater on LP most of the time. You might be able to run the A/C on a 20 amp circuit, if it is a 13.5kw unit it will run on a 15 amp as long as you don't have a long extension cord on it, and you keep everything else on gas.

Aaron
__________________

__________________
There is madness to my methods
2015 Coleman CM16FBS(traded) 2016 Concord 300DS
2015 Ford Fusion Hybrid following along
wahoonc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2018, 02:20 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: tampa
Posts: 1,158
Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by poultryfarm View Post
Hello,

My 2006 Dutchmen is 30 Amps 110 volt. Can I plug in 50 Amp 110 v at home breaker?
I try to run AC, water heater same time. Thank you for your help
It is possible to run a single pole 50 amp circuit breaker BUT, unless you are changing the house wiring to accommodate the extra amperage, you are creating a possible fire issue. I would recommend a dedicated NEWLY WIRED outlet and if you have the space in your load center, install something like a SqD QO150 (50 amp single pole) dedicated to that circuit. Again, DO NOT USE THIS ON YOUR EXISTING WIRING! Also, if you are pulling more amps than your RV Shore Power Cable is capable of handling, you are risking damage to the cable, connections to the RV, and other electrical devices in your RV. You can put a 30 amp 110 volt circuit breaker in the box just as easy as adding a 50 and, in my opinion, would be the proper thing to do in order to run your rv at home. Again, adding the necessary wiring, etc.
franktafl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2018, 07:35 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Tucson
Posts: 655
Arizona
The way I understand things house current 220v 50 amp is 2 hot wires and ground and will blow up your RV wiring.

110v 30 amp RV current is 3 wires: 1 hot wire, neutral wire, and ground.

110v 50 amp RV current is 4 wires: 2 hot wires, neutral wire, and ground. If you're wiring up to your house each hot wire goes into its own 50 amp breaker.
__________________
2014 Voltage 3600
2013 Chevy 3500 CC DRW
2011 Harley Ultra Limited
azdryheat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2018, 12:14 AM   #5
Member
 
GGreGG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Palmetto
Posts: 29
Florida
I'm a retired electrician AND you need to call one. You're over your head and asking for trouble.
GGreGG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2018, 12:18 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Dalzell
Posts: 692
South Carolina
Guys, you're getting confused. The 50 Amp RV outlet (14-50R) is exactly the same as a home 50 amp electric stove outlet, and wired the same way. Two hots on either side, neutral at the bottom, and ground at the top. Yes, from hot to hot is 220 Volts, and in a stove, that potential is used as such. But in an RV, each hot is only used for 120 V circuits, to neutral.
Some speculate that there is "only" 120 volts in an RV outlet. Perhaps they think that both hots are from the same side of the 120/240 feed. But I don't think so. Every RV camp circuit breaker board I've seen shows the 50 amp, dual-breakers coming from a standard electric panel, where A and B phase are interleaved.
So this OP, could perhaps, get an RV dog-bone adapter, which is designed to go from 50 amp RV service to 30 amp. The adapter takes one of the two hots, and feeds it to the 30 amp service. Yes, it is "offering" 50 amps, but once the power gets inside the RV, the first thing it sees is a 30 amp main breaker. Nothing inside the trailer is going to draw more than 30 amps. Yes, a short in the cable outside would have to draw 50 amps before the house breaker tripped.
Maybe this guy has a 50 amp electric stove outlet in his garage? If so, this could work. The original post is not very clear as to his plans.
But I agree with others. The BEST plan is to get a 30 amp RV outlet installed by a qualified electrician. Use what it gives you, in terms of amperage. Like Aaron says, use propane for water heat or fridge or cabin heat. Your 30 amp plug will be glad you did, especially if you are using a 30 amp RV extension cord! (speaking from experience!)
MartyG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2018, 02:03 AM   #7
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Milwaukie/Oak Grove
Posts: 9
Oregon
30 amps to 50 amps

The prior owner at my residence hooked up his RV to a 50A 220v-service outlet. We have a TT, 30-amp. After blowing out a 110v 15 amp outlet on 20A service this summer with the AC running, I bought the RV dog-bone adapter 50A-30A, and plugged the trailer into the 220 service, so, I am only using one leg. But, I also have a Progressive Industries surge protector in line between the outlet and my TT.
Randy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2018, 02:50 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Beaver Dam
Posts: 130
Wisconsin
The quick answer is yes. Everything will work. The 50 amp breaker in the home service entrance will protect the house wiring. The 30 amp breaker in the TT will protect the TT wiring. That leaves the shore power cable, the connecter on the outside of the TT, and the wiring between the connecter and the TT service panel. They are not adequately protected.
You need a 50 amp to 30 amp adapter with a 30 amp fuse or breaker in it to protect the shore power cord. Or, you could use a simple adapter and take the chance the power cord and its TT connector will not sustain damage that could cause a 20 amp over current and start a fire in the cord.
You could also install a 30 amp fuse or breaker with a 30 amp outlet next to the 50 amp outlet on the house side. You would not need to run a new 30 amp circuit back to the house service entrance, just wire it to the existing 50 amp line. This is how many RV parks are wired. They have 50 amp, 30 amp, and 20 amp outlets for shore power connection with breakers for each. This is all wired on the end of one 50 amp line to the site. The house wiring modification should be done by a licensed electrician.
Don’t worry about the 120 -230 voltage issue. That will all work out fine in the plugs and sockets.
persistent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2018, 02:55 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Beaver Dam
Posts: 130
Wisconsin
A surge protector protects against over voltage, not over current. A circuit breaker or fuse protects against over current. If your dog bone or serge protector does not have a 30 amp fuse or circuit breaker, your power cord, connector on the TT and the wire from the TT connecter to the TT service panel are at risk of fire.
The risk is not a high risk, but a risk none the less.
persistent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2018, 07:05 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: San Diego
Posts: 22
California
If you power chord is rated 30amps (#10 wire) it wouldn’t be wise to put more than 30 amps on it. If you want to install 50 amp service in your unit you need to make sure you panel is rated for 50 amps also. Panels are rated at 30, 60, and 100 on up. So you need to have a panel and chord and plug all rated for 50 amps. Like the other person said 50 amp is also 240 volts, which is 50 amps on 2 120 volt legs or 240 across the two hot legs. 120volts hot to neutral. If you change it makes sure it’s done by a qualified person or you could burn your unit up or worse you could kill somebody.
I’ve been a Electricial contractor for over 30 years, half of the advice given about is very wrong and dangerous.
__________________

larrypride is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT. The time now is 07:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.