atwood furnace problem - Page 2 - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Brand RVs > Ultra-Lite
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-26-2017, 05:44 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: bloomsburg
Posts: 20
Pennsylvania
looks like ill be ordering a ignition control board. Checked with camping world and they cant get me in until december. I can buy the board for what it would cost me to run down there anyway. Any suggestions on a replacement brand or should I stick with the atwood board?
__________________

__________________
Jim and Holly Lapinski
2004 F150
2016 coleman 2855bh
jhlapinski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2017, 05:52 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,505
Oklahoma
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhlapinski View Post
looks like ill be ordering a ignition control board. Checked with camping world and they cant get me in until december. I can buy the board for what it would cost me to run down there anyway. Any suggestions on a replacement brand or should I stick with the atwood board?
Sticking with an Atwood board will be costly. It is very possible, like so many companies, Atwood doesn't make the boards proper. Most circuit boards come from one of the 'ese' providers.
However there is a provider that supplies many boards to many RV establishments.
Ignitor Board Index page
__________________

__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2017, 06:10 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: bloomsburg
Posts: 20
Pennsylvania
Thanks. I found the atwood for $90 on amazon and the dinosaur for $95 Waiting to hear back from a few more emails to see what happens before I order
__________________
Jim and Holly Lapinski
2004 F150
2016 coleman 2855bh
jhlapinski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2017, 09:29 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: bloomsburg
Posts: 20
Pennsylvania
ok...new dinosaur board is installed. Blower starts right up and heater ignites....for a few seconds then shuts down and retries. Any thoughts? I have some but figured id ask first before I try a bunch of stuff unnecessarily.
__________________
Jim and Holly Lapinski
2004 F150
2016 coleman 2855bh
jhlapinski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2017, 09:39 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
ATCguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Somewhere on the road...
Posts: 1,185
North Carolina
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhlapinski View Post
ok...new dinosaur board is installed. Blower starts right up and heater ignites....for a few seconds then shuts down and retries. Any thoughts? I have some but figured id ask first before I try a bunch of stuff unnecessarily.
You say it "retries"... are you saying it doesn't relight when it retries, or that it relights & shuts back down in a continuous cycle?

If it doesn't relight, I'm thinking possible propane-flow issue. If it just continues recycling, I'm out... someone else will have to chime in.
__________________
Tom
2013 VOLTAGE 3200 (EPIC I & II)
2014 Ford F-450 PLATINUM
ATCguy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2017, 10:13 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: bloomsburg
Posts: 20
Pennsylvania
relights for a few seconds then stops burning. Gas flow was one of my thoughts as possible issue.
__________________
Jim and Holly Lapinski
2004 F150
2016 coleman 2855bh
jhlapinski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2017, 12:18 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
Tanman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 521
I am not totally satisfied it is a propane or heater problem.. all gas fireplaces etc furnaces such as that have a part within them that keeps the pilot light burning. Its called a thermopil or thermocoupling. both do basically the same thing. If the pilot light is not burning gas will not flow. The thermocoupling works in conjunction with the heat of the flame and produces a small voltage which is sent to the propane valve and tells it there is a flame burning and its ok to open the valve for gas to flow. Without this device you could turn on the gas heater and gas would flow until something else ignited the gas thus an explosion, fire or both.
I would check and see if you can get a new thermopil which hooks on right where the pilot lite burns. easy to replace and keeps the pilot burning. without it the pilot will not stay burning and the gas will not flow.
Tanman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2017, 01:17 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,505
Oklahoma
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tanman View Post
I am not totally satisfied it is a propane or heater problem.. all gas fireplaces etc furnaces such as that have a part within them that keeps the pilot light burning. Its called a thermopil or thermocoupling. both do basically the same thing. If the pilot light is not burning gas will not flow. The thermocoupling works in conjunction with the heat of the flame and produces a small voltage which is sent to the propane valve and tells it there is a flame burning and its ok to open the valve for gas to flow. Without this device you could turn on the gas heater and gas would flow until something else ignited the gas thus an explosion, fire or both.
I would check and see if you can get a new thermopil which hooks on right where the pilot lite burns. easy to replace and keeps the pilot burning. without it the pilot will not stay burning and the gas will not flow.
Basically you are on the money when speaking of an appliance with a standing pilot flame. DSI appliances don't have a standing pilot, they sense heat from the igniter. The method of operation with DSI is controlled more so by the control board and its adjunct components.

In DSI furnaces, the igniter serves in place of a pilot light. In newer furnaces, the igniter also serves as a flame sensor, providing feedback to the ignition control board to verify that ignition was successful.
__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2017, 01:51 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
Tanman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 521
Thanks Dancer.. i did not know that...
Tanman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2017, 01:56 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,505
Oklahoma
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tanman View Post
Thanks Dancer.. i did not know that...
You're welcome and I'm still learning these things myself.
__________________

__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT. The time now is 04:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.