2017 kodiak 186E tv mount - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Brand RVs > Ultra-Lite
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-25-2017, 03:57 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: West Kelowna
Posts: 10
British Columbia
2017 kodiak 186E tv mount

My local dealership apparently doesn't do TV installs and I've contacted dutchman directly about where the plate is for the lcd tv mount, but they said to contact the dealership so no help there!

Can anyone give me measurements on where the mounting plate is, I've tried a stud finder and haven't been having much luck...
__________________

Zerograv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2017, 07:33 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Lighthouse Point
Posts: 123
Florida
TV

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zerograv View Post
My local dealership apparently doesn't do TV installs and I've contacted dutchman directly about where the plate is for the lcd tv mount, but they said to contact the dealership so no help there!

Can anyone give me measurements on where the mounting plate is, I've tried a stud finder and haven't been having much luck...
These trailers do not have a TV antenna do they? If not you need that. and then the TV.
__________________

masterblaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2017, 07:49 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: West Kelowna
Posts: 10
British Columbia
They do have a tv antenna, and besides there are lots of other ways to watch media other then over the air
Zerograv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2017, 08:47 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
wildwest450's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sparta
Posts: 1,715
Tennessee
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zerograv View Post
They do have a tv antenna, and besides there are lots of other ways to watch media other then over the air
Haha, that's the last way I would ever watch tv.
__________________
2014 Aerolite 213 RBSL
2016 Chevrolet Colorado
wildwest450 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2017, 10:13 PM   #5
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: London
Posts: 9
Ontario
On the 2012 it is dead center above the dinette window between the shelf with the entertainment system and the front bunk. The floorplans and photos of the 2017 on the website look almost identical to the 2012, just with different trim etc. The 2012 actually had a sticker for the mounting location. I would try the stud finder in that area again if you have not checked there already.
rwbradley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2017, 10:26 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: West Kelowna
Posts: 10
British Columbia
Yeah I've seen photos of the mount sticker on older models and the sticker seems closer to the stereo then the bunk side.

Would you say basically right above the center of the window? I'll try my stud finder again but it's all over the place.
Zerograv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2017, 11:23 PM   #7
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: London
Posts: 9
Ontario
I am not sure how reliable number from a 2012 are but I measured 8" down from the ceiling and 17" to the right of the shelf is the center of my mount. It is not quite dead center, looks a little left of center.
rwbradley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2017, 11:36 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: West Kelowna
Posts: 10
British Columbia
Awesome! Thanks for this!

I'll measure to that area and put a pin in and see if I get any resistance.

I don't see them having changed it since 2012
Zerograv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2017, 11:39 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: West Kelowna
Posts: 10
British Columbia
Thanks for this!
Zerograv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2017, 04:27 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: West Kelowna
Posts: 10
British Columbia
Your measurements worked perfectly! Thank you so much! No surprise the rv community comes through when the dealerships and manufacturers can't!
Zerograv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2017, 03:26 AM   #11
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Wedowee
Posts: 1
Alabama
Recently purchased 2017 Dutchman Kodiak 255 bhsl (ultralite) and tried to mount bracket in bedroom and found no backer plate. Bought new stud finder still no luck , drilled three small pilot holes still no backer plate, finally gave up and mounted to separation wall opposite side of living room tv. I've owned three other campers and still have a revere 2015. Frustrated with quality control! Has anyone else had same problem?
Preacherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2017, 04:04 PM   #12
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Rio Rancho
Posts: 7
New Mexico
No TV Backing Mount

I am a new owner of a Kodiak 186E. It was time to install the TV. I read all the advise on this posting and, just to be sure, called Dutchmen Customer Service. They told me that the backing plate was centered over the window, it was 14"X16" and about 1" thick. Armed with that information, I drilled a small hole..... and guess what? I immediately, after going through the paneling, hit foam. I drilled in 1 inch and no backing plate. I don't know why my serial number is lacking a backing plate. My advise, drill a small hole before proceeding. Lucky the TV only weights less that 6 pounds so there are other ways to mount it.
mike.francis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2017, 05:51 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
wildwest450's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sparta
Posts: 1,715
Tennessee
Are you looking for "studs" on an outside wall? I doubt there's any wood on these newer campers. On an inside wall it takes about 4 minutes to just gently remove the wood panel where the tv supposedly mounts. I took mine down, reinforced it and cut a hole for my direct tv receiver. Ftr, Dutchman gives you a pine 1"x4" to secure a tv to (a small child could punch through it). I doubled all mine up, you could almost do a chin up on it.




__________________
2014 Aerolite 213 RBSL
2016 Chevrolet Colorado
wildwest450 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2017, 09:51 PM   #14
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Rio Rancho
Posts: 7
New Mexico
Yes there was a stud but unfortunately it was total in the wrong place and unusable. My point to the post was that despite what Dutchmen Customer Service or the blogs say, Check first. Several owners mentioned that their new camper came with a sticker showing where to mount the TV. Mine didn't have one, maybe that should have been the first clue.
mike.francis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2017, 01:51 AM   #15
Site Team
 
wahoonc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Sprung Leak
Posts: 3,139
North Carolina
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike.francis View Post
Yes there was a stud but unfortunately it was total in the wrong place and unusable. My point to the post was that despite what Dutchmen Customer Service or the blogs say, Check first. Several owners mentioned that their new camper came with a sticker showing where to mount the TV. Mine didn't have one, maybe that should have been the first clue.
I had a sticker, but where the sticker was and the mounting point was were alternate realities.

Aaron
__________________

__________________
There is madness to my methods
2015 Coleman CM16FBS(traded) 2016 Concord 300DS
2015 Ford Fusion Hybrid following along
wahoonc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×