Trippy GFI at State Parks - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Brand RVs > General RV Related Discussions
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-31-2017, 09:12 PM   #1
New Member
 
dahmenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Spring Grove
Posts: 7
Alabama
Trippy GFI at State Parks

Has anyone else experienced issues plugging into power at State parks; where the GFI trips as soon as you connect? 3 of the last 5 power hookups tripped and we had to run off battery. We can plug in at home without tripping the breakers. We took our camper in for an electrical check up - only to be told it's the park service not our trailer. Is this a common problem?


Janet D
2016 Aerolite 281RLSS


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________

__________________
J L Dahmen
281RSS AeroLite
dahmenj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2017, 10:02 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
ATCguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Somewhere on the road...
Posts: 1,302
Wyoming
While I wouldn't say it's common... it's certainly not uncommon. There's a reason why state park rates are cheap. With tight budgets, many don't spend much on utility infrastructure.
__________________

__________________
Tom
2013 VOLTAGE 3200 (EPIC I & II)
2014 Ford F-450 PLATINUM
2017 BMW R1200GS Rallye
ATCguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2017, 11:04 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Roselle
Posts: 1,154
Illinois
Another reason for surge protectors.
Rusty
__________________
2015 Black F-350 Platinum Diesel Dually Crew Cab
2019 Riverstone Legacy 38MB (Full Paint/All Options)
2015 Voltage 3990 (Full Paint, All Options) Sold 6/18
2005 Harley Ultra Classic w/too many miles
lcv800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2017, 12:49 AM   #4
Site Team
 
wahoonc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Sprung Leak
Posts: 3,138
North Carolina
Get a Progressive Industries EMS it will go a long ways towards protecting your RV as well as letting you know what the electrical issues are with the pole you are plugging into. If you are using 30 amp on a power pole there shouldn't be a GFCI.

Aaron
__________________
There is madness to my methods
2015 Coleman CM16FBS(traded) 2016 Concord 300DS
2015 Ford Fusion Hybrid following along
wahoonc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2017, 05:18 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Dalzell
Posts: 704
South Carolina
This is a large TT, often equipped with a 2nd AC, and thus, a 50 amp service. If they are trying to use a "cheater box" i.e. 50 amp split into a 30 amp AND a 20 amp plug, then it WILL trip the GFCI. I can't imagine any other reason why a TT that big would be plugging into a 20 amp outlet, except maybe at home, just to keep the battery charged.
MartyG is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×