V3800 Sound System - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Brand RVs > Toy Hauler
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-12-2014, 03:22 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Seminole
Posts: 10
Texas
V3800 Sound System

Has anyone had any problems with the interior speakers not working in the garage Kenwood unit? My exterior speakers work fine, but nothing from the interior. They worked fine the first week out.
__________________

Mogie1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2014, 04:03 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Houma
Posts: 243
Louisiana
They did a really crappy job in wiring up the speakers in the garage. Not only were they connected with cheap screw on wire nuts, but on mine I found that the indoor (ceiling) speakers and outdoor speakers were both wired to the "Front" channel on the Sony unit in the garage. They had all 4 ground wires together and the indoor and outdoor speakers separated by left and right channels, then went through the manual "indoor/outdoor" switch. This caused the impedance of the deck to be 2 ohms when all 4 speakers were on (well below the rating on the unit), and also causing distortion with all 4 speakers on. I pulled the unit, re-wired the speakers to use both front and rear channels, while still using the manual indoor/outdoor switch. I also installed crimp type connectors on the speaker wires. The result is a much better sounding radio and peace of mind knowing its installed correctly now.
__________________

__________________
2013 Voltage Epic 3600
2006 GMC Sierra 2500HD Diesel (LBZ)
Sinecure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2014, 12:14 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Seminole
Posts: 10
Texas
Is there an amplifier stashed somewhere? I have not located one yet?
Mogie1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2014, 12:44 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
HornedToad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Midland
Posts: 606
Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mogie1 View Post
Is there an amplifier stashed somewhere? I have not located one yet?
Mogie,

If you wind up pulling your Kenwood unit, I would be interested to know if there is an auxiliary input on the back.

The menu has an option to sync Bluetooth or connect by hard wire ,but there is no visible aux jack input on the front of the unit???

PS I had to let my daughters, who stay in the back, figure out the menu's to set up the speakers & DVD. They finally got everything to work. It was way past my level of patience!!!
__________________

Mike & Helen
2014 Voltage 3895 EPIC III
2013 Ford F350 CC DRW FX4
HornedToad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2014, 02:55 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Seminole
Posts: 10
Texas
There is a USB cord tied up in the back of the unit. I will look tonight for an AUX input.

I plan on running the USB down through the bottom of the cabinet and out with the base speaker wires.
Mogie1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2014, 02:58 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Houma
Posts: 243
Louisiana
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mogie1 View Post
Is there an amplifier stashed somewhere? I have not located one yet?
There is no external amplifier on my Sony deck. I'm not sure, but I wouldn't think the Kenwood would have one either since it is just powering four 6" speakers.
__________________
2013 Voltage Epic 3600
2006 GMC Sierra 2500HD Diesel (LBZ)
Sinecure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2014, 09:49 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
splash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Elizabeth
Posts: 120
Colorado
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sinecure View Post
There is no external amplifier on my Sony deck. I'm not sure, but I wouldn't think the Kenwood would have one either since it is just powering four 6" speakers.
my amp is factory mounted in the battery/gen compartment ceiling
__________________
2014 Voltage 3950 Epic III
2007 Freightliner M2 106
Yamaha Rhino & YZ450F
splash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2014, 03:26 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Houma
Posts: 243
Louisiana
Quote:
Originally Posted by splash View Post
my amp is factory mounted in the battery/gen compartment ceiling
That is interesting. Would you mind posting a pic?
__________________
2013 Voltage Epic 3600
2006 GMC Sierra 2500HD Diesel (LBZ)
Sinecure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2014, 11:11 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 81
Nevada
That is weird. I was thinking about putting a amp and sub box in one of the cabinets in the garage on mine. I got a Sony DVD without bluetooth, works great, but BT would be nice to have.
__________________
Sam
2013 Voltage 3200
2017 Ford F-350 CC/LB SRW
Race Bikes
Brandt51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2014, 02:50 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
splash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Elizabeth
Posts: 120
Colorado
Amp in gen compartment.

Here's a pic
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	56
Size:	58.3 KB
ID:	1209  
__________________

__________________
2014 Voltage 3950 Epic III
2007 Freightliner M2 106
Yamaha Rhino & YZ450F
splash is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
3800 sound system

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT. The time now is 04:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.