12v Fridge - Dutchmen Owners
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-04-2021, 10:21 PM   #1

Iowa
12v Fridge

I am new to camping. I have a 2021 Kodiak Ultimate 2921 FKDS. It has a 12 v refrigerator. While the camper is plugged into my tow vehicle (2020 Ram 1500), can I run the fridge? I was wondering if I can stock the fridge while driving.

mikefic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2021, 08:24 AM   #2

Michigan
Yes you can. It will run on 12v and propane. Be sure the switch is in either AUTO or Propane/Gas mode though.

donzinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2021, 02:02 PM   #3

California
Just keep in mind that you will be using propane when you do this and in some cases it is illegal such as when going through a tunnel of at a gas station. Many debate its danger or lack thereof but that is a different discussion. The bottom line is you can do it.
Old 01-06-2021, 03:01 AM   #4

Iowa
Thank you for your help!
mikefic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2021, 10:04 PM   #5

Colorado
12v fridge

RV fridges that are of the gas absorption type work by boiling ammonia. It can boil with LP Gas (with a 12V control board and valve. It can boil with 120V heater (with a 12V control board and valve). In some cases, and this may be your case, it actually has a 12V heater.

If it does have a 12V heater, and you are running it on the 12V setting, then it will pull your batteries dry in no time. The Ram has a peculiar trait where it leaves the 12V line on the 7-way trailer plug hot all the time, even with the key off.

If your fridge is on 12V and you leave the caper plugged into the truck, it will pull your truck batteries dry.
leisuresolar@gmail.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2021, 10:33 PM   #6

Connecticut
Running on 12 volts