Expedition and Kodiak - Dutchmen Owners
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Technical | Towing, Maintenance and Repairs > Towing Talk
Click Here to Login

Old 04-12-2017, 05:56 PM   #1

Michigan
Expedition and Kodiak

Hello all!!

I'm a newbie here! We will be first time TT owners and really have our hearts set on a 2017 Kodiak 330BHSL - 7630 lb Dry Weight and 979 lb Hitch Weight. This has a perfect layout for our family of 6!

We will be purchasing a 2017 Ford Expedition EL Limited 4x4, it will have the tow package and we are adding the mechanical self leveling suspension option. It has the specs of 9100 lb towing capacity and 920 hitch weight capacity.

My question is, is this set up even safely possible?! Can the high hitch weight be minimized by a distribution/anti sway hitch?

Thank you and look forward to some input!!

dhillm76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2017, 10:12 PM   #2

Tennessee
What's your cargo capacity, looks like your're going to be way over on that as well.
You can take the factory tongue weight and toss it out the window, once loaded it will be well over a thousand pounds.

Old 04-12-2017, 10:45 PM   #3

Colorado
No

The short answer is no way would I consider that set up. We currently have a 240BHSL and really enjoy it but of course the model your considering has the seperate bedroom for the kids and much more room! We actually considered moving over to a Toyota Tundra and getting the 330BHLS but again the Tundra would have come up right at MAX capacity or even a bit short so we stayed with what we have. The 330BHSL is a much larger camper with outdoor kitchen etc but if you don't need all of that then consider the 240BHSL. You could load one of these up as much as you want
rcharrette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2017, 12:57 AM   #4

Kentucky