Atwood 8940 Furnace - Won’t Start! - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Technical | Towing, Maintenance and Repairs > Heating, Cooling and Appliances
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-29-2019, 01:56 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Oxnard
Posts: 211
California
Atwood 8940 Furnace - Won’t Start!

We just nearly froze for a week over Christmas. The Atwood 8940-III DCLP furnace simply would not even start. Checked the fuse, the reset switch, did the init thermostat, flipped the tanks, still nothing. It does 3 tries of clicking, then it quits with one red led flash error code. Is that the blower motor? The blower never comes on, and that happens first, as I understand it. It worked the first day for about an hour, then nothing. Any ideas what else l could check?
__________________

__________________
2015 Voltage 3800 w/ Epic IV, Int&Ext, Garage Pkgs; 8x100W Solar, 2x Xantrex C35 Charge Controllers, SW2000 Inverter & Monitor; 2005 Chevy Duramax Dually 3500 w/Banks; Kawi KFX700 & Polaris Scrambler 500 ATVs.
VCToyhauler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2019, 10:45 AM   #2
Site Team
 
wahoonc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Sprung Leak
Posts: 3,153
North Carolina
One flash error code is a limit switch/airflow issue. Which would make sense because the blower isn't coming on. Double-check your fuses and connections to the blower and make sure it is getting a full 12 volts. IIRC there is a relay in the circuit too that could cause issues.

Aaron
__________________

__________________
There is madness to my methods
2015 Coleman CM16FBS(traded) 2016 Concord 300DS
2015 Ford Fusion Hybrid following along
wahoonc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2019, 06:03 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
ArmyVeteran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Aiken
Posts: 696
South Carolina
I just fixed our heater by cleaning out the "mud dobbers" AKA "dirt dobbers". They had built nests in the exhaust. The love propane apparently.


Good Luck.
__________________
"the older my father got the smarter I got"
ArmyVeteran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2019, 08:50 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Oxnard
Posts: 211
California
Quote:
Originally Posted by wahoonc View Post
One flash error code is a limit switch/airflow issue. Which would make sense because the blower isn't coming on. Double-check your fuses and connections to the blower and make sure it is getting a full 12 volts. IIRC there is a relay in the circuit too that could cause issues.



Aaron


So I opened it up, jiggled all the wires, reset everything, tried again. I got the blower to come on, but never felt heat, and it quit after about 30 seconds, with the one flash error code.
__________________
2015 Voltage 3800 w/ Epic IV, Int&Ext, Garage Pkgs; 8x100W Solar, 2x Xantrex C35 Charge Controllers, SW2000 Inverter & Monitor; 2005 Chevy Duramax Dually 3500 w/Banks; Kawi KFX700 & Polaris Scrambler 500 ATVs.
VCToyhauler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2019, 09:16 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
ATCguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Cody
Posts: 1,399
Wyoming
Take a look at my initial post at the following link, and see if the symptoms are similar:

http://www.dutchmenowners.org/forums...ssue-5084.html

I had an issue with mine a few years ago. Because of some medical issues and the location I was in at the time, I never did get it figured out that winter. But a few months later, after I had moved to a place where they had a mobile tech... he diagnosed it right away. The solution was a simple replacement of the sail-switch.

He installed a new one, and it fired right up. A $15 part. Go figure...

Not saying yours will be as simple, but just throwing it out there
__________________
Tom
2013 VOLTAGE 3200 (EPIC I & II)
2014 Ford F-450 PLATINUM
ATCguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2019, 10:45 AM   #6
Site Team
 
wahoonc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Sprung Leak
Posts: 3,153
North Carolina
Quote:
Originally Posted by VCToyhauler View Post
So I opened it up, jiggled all the wires, reset everything, tried again. I got the blower to come on, but never felt heat, and it quit after about 30 seconds, with the one flash error code.
Need to test the sail switch.

Aaron
__________________
There is madness to my methods
2015 Coleman CM16FBS(traded) 2016 Concord 300DS
2015 Ford Fusion Hybrid following along
wahoonc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2019, 06:55 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Oxnard
Posts: 211
California
Quote:
Originally Posted by wahoonc View Post
Need to test the sail switch.



Aaron


THAT WAS IT! The sail switch is on the inside of the outer blower cover on the atwood 8940-III DCLP. It’s pushbutton switch spring was shot and it was just flapping. Ordered new part 36680 on Amazon.
__________________
2015 Voltage 3800 w/ Epic IV, Int&Ext, Garage Pkgs; 8x100W Solar, 2x Xantrex C35 Charge Controllers, SW2000 Inverter & Monitor; 2005 Chevy Duramax Dually 3500 w/Banks; Kawi KFX700 & Polaris Scrambler 500 ATVs.
VCToyhauler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2020, 10:05 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Oxnard
Posts: 211
California
Fixed! Atwood Furnace Sail Switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by VCToyhauler View Post
THAT WAS IT! The sail switch is on the inside of the outer blower cover on the atwood 8940-III DCLP. It’s pushbutton switch spring was shot and it was just flapping. Ordered new part 36680 on Amazon.
Update: Received new sail switch, replaced, problem SOLVED.
__________________
2015 Voltage 3800 w/ Epic IV, Int&Ext, Garage Pkgs; 8x100W Solar, 2x Xantrex C35 Charge Controllers, SW2000 Inverter & Monitor; 2005 Chevy Duramax Dually 3500 w/Banks; Kawi KFX700 & Polaris Scrambler 500 ATVs.
VCToyhauler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2020, 10:06 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Oxnard
Posts: 211
California
Yep! That nailed it. 😎
__________________
2015 Voltage 3800 w/ Epic IV, Int&Ext, Garage Pkgs; 8x100W Solar, 2x Xantrex C35 Charge Controllers, SW2000 Inverter & Monitor; 2005 Chevy Duramax Dually 3500 w/Banks; Kawi KFX700 & Polaris Scrambler 500 ATVs.
VCToyhauler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2020, 10:29 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
ATCguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Cody
Posts: 1,399
Wyoming
Click image for larger version

Name:	How I Feel.jpg
Views:	34
Size:	43.5 KB
ID:	6042
__________________

__________________
Tom
2013 VOLTAGE 3200 (EPIC I & II)
2014 Ford F-450 PLATINUM
ATCguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2020 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×