AC e1 code - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Technical | Towing, Maintenance and Repairs > Heating, Cooling and Appliances
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-26-2020, 02:42 PM   #1
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Cedar Hill
Posts: 2
Tennessee
AC e1 code

Hello we have a Dutchmen infinity 3850RL with dual air. We had a E1 code on the thermostat and did all the suggested troubleshooting. After disconnecting the front AC comm wire (zone 2) the rear unit worked. We went up top and ran a temporary comm cable from one unit to the other and they both work properly. The rear unit is ducted and does not have the grill or return air directly underneath the unit. Wondering how to get into the area to attempt to run the new cable? Thanks for any help!
__________________

Gstout62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 02:54 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,905
Oklahoma
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gstout62 View Post
Hello we have a Dutchmen infinity 3850RL with dual air. We had a E1 code on the thermostat and did all the suggested troubleshooting. After disconnecting the front AC comm wire (zone 2) the rear unit worked. We went up top and ran a temporary comm cable from one unit to the other and they both work properly. The rear unit is ducted and does not have the grill or return air directly underneath the unit. Wondering how to get into the area to attempt to run the new cable? Thanks for any help!

Last year I had a rat/mouse chew through the communication cable between the units and thermostat.
Though long and hard how to run a new cable and decided it was impossible without opening either the roof or the ceiling.
I tried the external temporary cable between the two roof units with the thought of leaving the cable on the roof and covering it with the self leveling caulk. In my case the temporary cable didn't solve my problem because the comm cable was eaten below the junction box.
End result was to install a stand alone A/C unit with the controls on the grill itself.
__________________

__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 03:03 PM   #3
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Cedar Hill
Posts: 2
Tennessee
Thank you Sundancer! Attaching to the roof is definitely something Iím considering! I just donít see any easy to run it in the ceiling. And the temp cable has them both working. Thanks for the input! Happy Camping!!!
Gstout62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2020 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×