A/C only produces hot air. - Dutchmen Owners
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Technical | Towing, Maintenance and Repairs > Heating, Cooling and Appliances
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-24-2021, 05:34 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
eightydo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 600
Nevada
A/C only produces hot air.

Galley A/C will only produce hot air
I checked for Freon leak(no signs of oil)
I checked the wire connections
Checked amperage on compressor it has a draw so it is running (not lock rotor amps)
I think itís the control board where would I find one?
__________________

__________________

2017 Dodge Ram 3500 DRW
2014 Voltage 3200
2005 FLHTCI
eightydo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2021, 07:37 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 3,081
Oklahoma
You probably won't find any oily residue from a leak with the new style refrigerants. You may find the refrigerant has leaked out of the seals.

You may find an HVAC guy that will tap a line and recharge the unit but it will probably leak down again.
__________________

__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2021, 04:05 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
dsol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Calabasas
Posts: 641
California
@OP, did the A/C slowly stop cooling effectively or did it happen all of a sudden? If all of a sudden I would be inclined to think electrical or something broke. If it was slowly getting worse than refrigerant leak seems more likely.
__________________
2018 Voltage 3305
dsol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2021, 06:17 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
eightydo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 600
Nevada
It was a sudden stop cooling.
__________________

2017 Dodge Ram 3500 DRW
2014 Voltage 3200
2005 FLHTCI
eightydo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2021, 11:46 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Beaver Dam
Posts: 738
Wisconsin
Quote:
Originally Posted by eightydo View Post
Galley A/C will only produce hot air
I checked for Freon leak(no signs of oil)
I checked the wire connections
Checked amperage on compressor it has a draw so it is running (not lock rotor amps)
I think itís the control board where would I find one?
We need make and model of the air conditioner for better advice.
__________________
Paul Bristol
Dutchman Kodiak Cub KD176RD 2018
Nissan Pathfinder 2015
persistent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2021, 12:04 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: FLA. largo
Posts: 203
Florida
Did it freeze up meanining if you remove filter and look up does it look like a block of ice
Ovalvw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2021, 02:46 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
eightydo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 600
Nevada
Click image for larger version

Name:	989BCAF4-2198-42AE-9123-E4F1C9D88DB5.jpg
Views:	104
Size:	56.8 KB
ID:	6935
Quote:
Originally Posted by persistent View Post
we need make and model of the air conditioner for better advice.
__________________

2017 Dodge Ram 3500 DRW
2014 Voltage 3200
2005 FLHTCI
eightydo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2021, 03:26 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
eightydo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 600
Nevada
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ovalvw View Post
Did it freeze up meanining if you remove filter and look up does it look like a block of ice
The unit is ducted so not visible without removing exterior cover. Not frozen.
__________________

2017 Dodge Ram 3500 DRW
2014 Voltage 3200
2005 FLHTCI
eightydo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2021, 08:25 PM   #9
New Member
 
Crossroads's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Location: Englewood
Posts: 6
Tennessee
Hi eightydo
I got the same problem with my Dometic AC unit. My one is a 2018.
Finding an HVAC guy, that has the license to do it, is impossible.
It is easier to do it by your self. Check YouTube for: " How to recharge a RV AC unit?"
I did it and since then it works better than a brand new one.
Good Luck
Crossroads is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2021, 09:50 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 3,081
Oklahoma
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crossroads View Post
Hi eightydo
I got the same problem with my Dometic AC unit. My one is a 2018.
Finding an HVAC guy, that has the license to do it, is impossible.
It is easier to do it by your self. Check YouTube for: " How to recharge a RV AC unit?"
I did it and since then it works better than a brand new one.
Good Luck

Do you have links for the refrigerant and manifold gauge and hose and tap?
__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2021, 12:42 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Beaver Dam
Posts: 738
Wisconsin
Quote:
Originally Posted by eightydo View Post
I used the Dometic website.
https://documents.dometic.com/

I searched for Serial No. 25222966 and Manufactures # 459516.711JO

Neither number returned any results, so no, more is needed. Do you have manuals for the A/C?

I recommend you contact Dometic for instructions. I am sure they can provide parts.
__________________
Paul Bristol
Dutchman Kodiak Cub KD176RD 2018
Nissan Pathfinder 2015
persistent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2021, 01:16 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: oshkosh
Posts: 48
Wisconsin
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crossroads View Post
Hi eightydo
I got the same problem with my Dometic AC unit. My one is a 2018.
Finding an HVAC guy, that has the license to do it, is impossible.
It is easier to do it by your self. Check YouTube for: " How to recharge a RV AC unit?"
I did it and since then it works better than a brand new one.
Good Luck
If it is low on Freon, that means there is a leak, that needs to be repaired. If you just recharge without fixing leak, it will eventually leak out again, how soon depends on severity of leak.

Compressor not running, evaporator froze up, defrost sensor not working, fan motors not working, thermostat malfunctioning ??????????
The problems needs to be properly diagnosed for correct repairs.

My suggestion is to have a qualified refrigeration tech check it out an repair as necessary.
wis-redneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2021, 01:32 PM   #13
New Member
 
Crossroads's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Location: Englewood
Posts: 6
Tennessee
Quote:
Originally Posted by sundancer 87 View Post
Do you have links for the refrigerant and manifold gauge and hose and tap?
Hi
Link for the refrigerant : https://www.ebay.com/itm/203396330410

Link for the piercing valve: https://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_id=...geration+Lines.

Link for the Gauge Set: https://www.ebay.com/itm/131778279547

Good luck
Crossroads is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2021, 01:39 PM   #14
New Member
 
Crossroads's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Location: Englewood
Posts: 6
Tennessee
Dometic AC 13,500 BTU

Here some information about the Dometic AC
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Parts.jpg
Views:	86
Size:	49.4 KB
ID:	6936   Click image for larger version

Name:	Wiring Dia.jpg
Views:	78
Size:	45.8 KB
ID:	6937  
Crossroads is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2021, 08:36 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
eightydo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 600
Nevada
Quote:
Originally Posted by wis-redneck View Post
If it is low on Freon, that means there is a leak, that needs to be repaired. If you just recharge without fixing leak, it will eventually leak out again, how soon depends on severity of leak.

Compressor not running, evaporator froze up, defrost sensor not working, fan motors not working, thermostat malfunctioning ??????????
The problems needs to be properly diagnosed for correct repairs.

My suggestion is to have a qualified refrigeration tech check it out an repair as necessary.
Dude did you read my original post? I checked the compressor. Running amperage was normal. Found no oil residue as far as a leak. I was asking about the control board.
__________________

2017 Dodge Ram 3500 DRW
2014 Voltage 3200
2005 FLHTCI
eightydo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2021, 01:59 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: oshkosh
Posts: 48
Wisconsin
How did you check the running amperage?? Did you use a compressor tester, or just check under normal operation. If normal operation and was running, that would indicate the control board is ok, as it is sending current to the compressor. Additionally, not all Freon leaks will show signs of oil residue. Only way to check for leaks, low charge would be to hook up gauges to system and using a leak electronic detector.
wis-redneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2021, 02:39 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
eightydo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 600
Nevada
Quote:
Originally Posted by wis-redneck View Post
How did you check the running amperage?? Did you use a compressor tester, or just check under normal operation. If normal operation and was running, that would indicate the control board is ok, as it is sending current to the compressor. Additionally, not all Freon leaks will show signs of oil residue. Only way to check for leaks, low charge would be to hook up gauges to system and using a leak electronic detector.
I used a Fluke Amp probe, I looked at Full load amps and lock rotor amps. System does not have ports on it for the refrigerant.
__________________

2017 Dodge Ram 3500 DRW
2014 Voltage 3200
2005 FLHTCI
eightydo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2021, 02:46 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 3,081
Oklahoma
Quote:
Originally Posted by eightydo View Post
I used a Fluke Amp probe, I looked at Full load amps and lock rotor amps. System does not have ports on it for the refrigerant.
A recharge port can be easily installed.
__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2021, 03:32 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: oshkosh
Posts: 48
Wisconsin
Yes a piercing valve referenced in post 13 can be used, provided it is the correct size and it needs to be installed on the low side (suction line). Usually there is a separate charging stub on the compressor that is soldered shut after being charged. This would be the best place to use piercing valve. However, those type of access ports are notorious for also leaking. Also keep in mind that any Freon cannot be released into the atmosphere, legally it needs to be reclaimed.
wis-redneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2021, 04:06 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 3,081
Oklahoma
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crossroads View Post
Hi
Link for the refrigerant : https://www.ebay.com/itm/203396330410

Link for the piercing valve: https://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_id=...geration+Lines.

Link for the Gauge Set: https://www.ebay.com/itm/131778279547

Good luck

Thanks for the links. Bummer is I don't have an EPA certificate to purchase the refrigerant.
__________________

__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2020 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×