Shutting off propane at the tank? - Dutchmen Owners
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-24-2018, 08:19 PM   #1

Indiana
Shutting off propane at the tank?

So I am fairly new to the whole travel trailer scene and have a question about the propane. Is it recommended to turn off the propane at the tank any time the trailer will be sitting for a while or while towing it? I know the fridge takes propane to run while not plugged in, so you would need to leave it on if you are traveling with food, or is the normal practice to turn it off and leave the refrigerator/freezer doors shut for the drive time to keep stuff cold/dozen?

Thanks

Jayro88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2018, 10:02 PM   #2

Tennessee
I open mine before the first trip of the year and shut them off when I winterize. I don't have kids or go to gas stations, so I feel relatively safe.

There's nothing wrong with shutting them off after a trip, I just got tired of forgetting to turn them back on all the time.

Old 10-25-2018, 02:35 PM   #3

Florida
I make it a point to turn my propane valves off. Just seems safer that way. there is a thread somewhere that discusses keeping your fridge running on propane when you travel. Consensus was, some do, most don't. They cool the fridge then put things in it then travel to the destination then cool it again.
franktafl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2018, 03:02 PM   #4

Indiana
Thanks for the input. I had been traveling with them on. I just turned them on prior to the first outing and left it, but then started thinking about leaks etc.