Battery Cut Off - Dutchmen Owners
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-07-2021, 06:35 PM   #1

Utah
Battery Cut Off

Hello,

I’m not an electrician, plumbing is all I can do. I want to put a battery cut off switch on my Kodiak Ultra-Lite 296BHSL.

I’m hoping someone could kindly share which side would be my “input” for power. Left or Right side? I’m thinking it’s the left. My reasoning is there are two black (neg) cables in that box that I am presuming are for the side and top solar prep ports.

Any insights and friendly suggestions would be much appreciated. Thank you!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ED289732-B536-4124-BDA9-C85A34C69D55.jpg
Views:	233
Size:	57.8 KB
ID:	7213   Click image for larger version

Name:	C4E5B297-CF6A-40E0-8222-DA06F10F71CE.jpg
Views:	202
Size:	57.1 KB
ID:	7214   Click image for larger version

Name:	69357356-BB20-46CB-B0D4-9B7CD2582DC0.jpg
Views:	231
Size:	61.1 KB
ID:	7215  

TravisBatesUtah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2021, 10:09 PM   #2

Wisconsin
The two red wires to the left side box ares the positive wires. The black wire on the battery in the right box is the negative wire. Remove both red wires and connect to shut off switch.

You must be careful to always turn the shut off switch "on" before towing. The battery is needed to operate the trailer emergency brake.

I have no idea what the two black wires that dive into the left box are. There should be nothing under the batteries to connect to. Pull the battery and see what they are connected to.

There is a safer way to wire in the shut off switch. There should be a self re-setting circuit breaker in the red wire circuit. (See red rubber boot in the pictures.) The emergency brake wire may be connected there or in a near by junction box.