What to do if you are faced with a natural disaster while in your TT - Dutchmen Owners
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Brand RVs > General RV Related Discussions
Click Here to Login

Old 08-01-2014, 02:35 AM   #1

Ontario
What to do if you are faced with a natural disaster while in your TT

As a newbie, I really never gave it much thought until I read that evacuation post earlier.

What DO you do if you come into a direct tornado warning while in your TT at a camping site. I assumed you would just hide in your trailer and wait it out. WRONG.

So can all of you seasoned RV vets out there chime in....what should we do. Fire, tornado...any scenario you can add, that would be grrrreat

WASABI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2014, 02:56 AM   #2

Wisconsin
Fire 1 hour away, we've practiced "emergency departure". Fire coming faster, cats in the truck, couple of photos of the camper and get going. Tornado or fast winds, grab the cats, pictures if time, run, don't drive for shelter. In all cases, first thing I do in a new park is find a solid, heavy-weather building. Hurricane, you'll have plenty of time but always keep the tow vehicle with as much fuel as possible. Blizzard, (why are you in blizzard country, but) re-supply food and propane, batten down. Don't try to tow in heavy, falling snow. Been there, done that, very scary, white-knuckle ride. Flood, if you are in a flood plain (what was a beautiful view of the river), hitch and run. Running away from a natural disaster is easier if your co-pilot has a GPS (unit or phone) and can navigate an escape route while you focus on driving.

Old 08-01-2014, 03:22 AM   #3

Ontario
Quote:
Originally Posted by StephenK View Post