Seeking roof membrane advice for circa 2000 Dutchmen 31FK... - Dutchmen Owners
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-05-2021, 06:03 PM   #1

Minnesota
Seeking roof membrane advice for circa 2000 Dutchmen 31FK...

Hi - I am a total newbie when it comes to campers/RVs, so hoping to get some good advice. I recently purchased an older (2000) Dutchmen travel trailer, 31FK, that has been parked in a campground for the last 20 years. I bought the trailer mainly for the campsite with intention of putting something else it, but now it looks like I might not be able to afford to do that for a while.

The trailer had a few leaks over the years and was patched up with sealant. Additionally, the roof appears to have had a waterproofing of some kind painted over the membrane. The sealant is now peeling/flaking off and looks like it needs to be redone. There are no new leaks yet (that I am aware of anyway), but I would like to be proactive.

I was wondering what is my best course of action. I am thinking I clean up the roof as best I can and remove any peeling waterproofing. Then apply/paint a new waterproof layer on the roof. Does this sound like my best bet? Any tips/tricks or tools I should be aware of to clean this roof off to prep for new waterproofing? Is there a certain kind of brush that can be used to remove the peeling waterproofing? Do I need to get it all off before applying new - or just the flaking stuff?

Any and all advice appreciated. Thanks!

Chillin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2021, 06:26 PM   #2

New Hampshire
Dicor has a Rubber Roof Coating system you can put on. Good video on youtube that explains everything .
Stuff isnt cheap and for a 30 foot roof they estimate 4-5 gallons. Maybe you can do the worse off sections first.