Hitch loading - Dutchmen Owners
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-08-2012, 03:28 AM   #1

Montana
Hitch loading

I'm new to travel trailering, and was shocked to discover that I was putting on a hitch load of about 630 pounds. I have a U-Haul hitch rated at 500 pounds max. Do you think I have a problem with overloading, or am I probably Ok?

Thanks for your comments.
Vern.
Bozeman, Montana

Vern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 01:41 PM   #2

New York
Vern, is it a weight distrubution hitch or just a bumper hitch? Is that the printed hitch weight or did you have it weighed?????

Regardless, you may want to consider upgrading.....

PS - we have travled to Yellowstone a few times and just love (LOL) landing at the Bozeman airport!

Nana & Poppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 02:26 PM   #3

Wyoming
Yes, you have a problem.

Hitch failure can be a catastophic event often ending VERY badly. Overloading your hitch will also nab you a fine if you ever got pulled into a weigh scale as can happen here in BC.

Hitch weight can also vary depending on how you load your TT. After a couple years people get complacent (read sloppy) and forget to consider all the factors when it comes to loading your TT before a trip. Hey, we're all excited to get going, right?

It's best to get a hitch heavier than you need. Remember to factor in the ability of your tow vehicle to handle that hitch load as well. My advice is to get an RV place to recommend what size/type hitch you should get.
Wanderer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 03:24 PM   #4

Montana
Nana & Poppy

Yes, we do love our Bozeman. Beautiful country.

My U-Haul hitch fastens to the truck bumper (which is rated for a load of 1000 pounds), and it has steel supports that go under the truck and attach to the frame.