Frozen black tank - Dutchmen Owners
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-26-2022, 09:32 PM   #1

Idaho
Frozen black tank

Hello people, I’m new to the Dutchmans and I have a issue with my black tank being frozen. My freshwater drains. Somehow it looks like it drains through the black tank. I’m getting clear water out the sewage drain, but no sewage I can run hot water through it and it comes out clean. I can use the washing machine and it comes out but the toilet doesn’t drain, it’s a 2005 35FL Denali

Odinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2022, 01:10 PM   #2

Wisconsin
I don't have specific knowledge about your Denali. Different RV's have different plumbing. Often both black and gray tanks drain through the same pipe. Rarely does the gray tank drain through the black tank.

There are often two dump valves even though there is one drain pipe. One valve for each tank. I presume you have opened both.

Tanks and drains can freeze in Idaho winter weather. I don't know if your tanks and drain pipes are heated.

A black tank can also fill with solids and block the drain.
Drain valve mechanical or electric dump valves can fail. The gray may still work while the other fails.

persistent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2022, 06:52 PM   #3

Florida
do you fill your black tank about 1/3 full (with water) BEFORE you use it?
franktafl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2022, 07:43 PM   #4

Idaho
I just bought it six days ago. I don’t know what was in it.
Old 12-28-2022, 09:42 PM   #5

California
Can you see inside the tank from the toilet. ??
also is there any reading on the tank level monitor.??

if all else fails try adding hot water to the tank which might dilute what ever is in the tank.

Mike & Emily-Sacramento, CA
Our 4th trailer (2016 Aspen Trail 1900RB)
2018 F150 STX 2.7 Eco Boost
chily3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2022, 10:41 PM   #6