add a sun screen - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Brand RVs > General RV Related Discussions
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-09-2020, 12:38 PM   #1
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: North Charleston
Posts: 2
South Carolina
add a sun screen

Hi, Is there any way to add a sun screen to my awning or would it put too much stress on the awning? thanks
__________________

susiecamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2020, 10:47 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Roselle
Posts: 1,195
Illinois
Shouldn't add any strain unless you leave your awning up on really windy days, then the sunscreen can act as a sail. I have a Carefree sunshade that has a 3' drop that stays attached to the awning roller. The remaining 7' or so unzips for storage. 5 years no issues,
Rusty
__________________

__________________
2015 Black F-350 Platinum Diesel Dually Crew Cab
2019 Riverstone Legacy 38MB (Full Paint/All Options)
2015 Voltage 3990 (Full Paint, All Options) Sold 6/18
2005 Harley Ultra Classic w/too many miles
lcv800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2020, 12:23 PM   #3
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: North Charleston
Posts: 2
South Carolina
Thank you. I just wish the awning had an accessory track like some do for a screen.
susiecamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2020, 12:40 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Tucson
Posts: 803
Arizona
I have a sunscreen on my main awning (18') and it works great. It doesn't add much weight and sure does a good job cutting sunlight. The top 18 inches stays attached to the awning and the lower portion zips on when needed. I use bungees and stakes to keep it secured to the ground. Also helps keep the awning down on windy days. I recommend the sunscreen.
__________________
2014 Voltage 3600
2013 Chevy 3500 CC DRW
2011 Harley Ultra Limited 2016 RZR 900
azdryheat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2020, 10:48 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Roselle
Posts: 1,195
Illinois
I'm surprised you don't have a groove in your roller. I've never seen an awning without one. Maybe yours is installed incorrectly and it's under the fabric? I know they make strips to hang multiple items in the groove (two-way). Maybe you could retro-fit? Good luck.
Rusty
__________________
2015 Black F-350 Platinum Diesel Dually Crew Cab
2019 Riverstone Legacy 38MB (Full Paint/All Options)
2015 Voltage 3990 (Full Paint, All Options) Sold 6/18
2005 Harley Ultra Classic w/too many miles
lcv800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2020, 04:31 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
ATCguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Cody
Posts: 1,404
Wyoming
If all else fails, just buy a new roller. They're only $100 or so.

Of course, removing your old one... moving the fabric from old to the new... and replacing, without 2 or 3 people help is a PITA... but if you'r got friends/help, not all that hard.
__________________

__________________
Tom
2013 VOLTAGE 3200 (EPIC I & II)
2014 Ford F-450 PLATINUM
ATCguy is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2020 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×