Where is the switch for the Wifi ranger? - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Brand RVs > Toy Hauler
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-25-2020, 09:56 PM   #1
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Brooks
Posts: 9
Alberta
Where is the switch for the Wifi ranger?

This is getting so frustrating. I have a 2014 3970 voltage and I'm not sure what I am doing but in the process of flipping switches and doing our normal thing, I apparently turned off our Wi-Fi Ranger for part of the summer. We just thought there was something wrong with the unit itself, yet a couple weeks ago I went over 2 the trailer and now my phone tells me that it is up and working again. Is there any switch that turns it on and off? I was led to believe that is wired full-time, but that doesn't appear to be the case. I would sure like to know what activates / deactivates the wifiranger. Any help would be appreciated the point me in the right direction.
__________________

sparky1266 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2020, 10:11 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Lakeville
Posts: 155
Alabama
They are wired directly.
__________________

Revere411 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2020, 11:43 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
donzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Memphis
Posts: 1,465
Michigan
My 2014 3950 is wired direct
__________________
2014-3950, Full Paint, 17.5" tires, 370W solar, 3100W Magnum inverter w/ AGS, 7500w diesel generator, Micro-Air Easy Start 364 (x3)
2019 Ram 3500 Limited w/ Max Tow pkg
donzinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2020, 12:57 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Occupant5143's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Sierra Vista
Posts: 310
Arizona
Loose fuse in the fuse panel maybe?
__________________
2012 Dutchmen Denali 289RK
2013 Ford F250 Lariat - 6.7L Powerstroke Diesel
Occupant5143 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2020, 02:40 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
ATCguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Cody
Posts: 1,404
Wyoming
Ok, as I don't own a Ranger I'm just thinking out loud here... but is the system 12v, or 110AC? If it's 110AC only, then a fuse isn't gonna matter... and it obviously isn't going to work when dry camping.

Just wondering if that might play in when you do & don't have it working?
__________________
Tom
2013 VOLTAGE 3200 (EPIC I & II)
2014 Ford F-450 PLATINUM
ATCguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2020, 04:02 AM   #6
RDJ
Senior Member
 
RDJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: W
Posts: 62
Washington
Does anyone know where the wifi ranger is on our 17 3970 or do i even have one, have not seen a switch etc.,
__________________
19 F450 Crew Cab 4x4 Lariat, 17 Voltage 3970 Epic
RDJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2020, 07:28 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
donzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Memphis
Posts: 1,465
Michigan
Check your roof for a white box about 3x6x3. That's where the one on my 3950 is.
__________________
2014-3950, Full Paint, 17.5" tires, 370W solar, 3100W Magnum inverter w/ AGS, 7500w diesel generator, Micro-Air Easy Start 364 (x3)
2019 Ram 3500 Limited w/ Max Tow pkg
donzinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2020, 12:15 PM   #8
RDJ
Senior Member
 
RDJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: W
Posts: 62
Washington
Quote:
Originally Posted by donzinger View Post
Check your roof for a white box about 3x6x3. That's where the one on my 3950 is.
Nope i guess i do not have one, case solved Thanks
__________________
19 F450 Crew Cab 4x4 Lariat, 17 Voltage 3970 Epic
RDJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2020, 09:28 PM   #9
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Surrey
Posts: 2
British Columbia
The Morons wired Direct to a DC circuit! I get on the roof and disconnect it from the Wi-Fi ranger itself
Egeorge2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2020, 09:47 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: San Diego
Posts: 81
California
What is a Wi-Fi ranger?
larrypride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2020, 10:32 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
ATCguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Cody
Posts: 1,404
Wyoming
Quote:
Originally Posted by larrypride View Post
What is a Wi-Fi ranger?
It's a Wi-Fi repeater. Takes the signal from the campground Wi-Fi (or other source), and uses it as a wireless hub for your rig. The unit antenna on top of the rig usually grabs a signal from a farther range than your devices inside the rig.
__________________

__________________
Tom
2013 VOLTAGE 3200 (EPIC I & II)
2014 Ford F-450 PLATINUM
ATCguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2020 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×