What brand toyhauler would you recommend? - Dutchmen Owners
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Brand RVs > Toy Hauler
Click Here to Login

Old 03-23-2015, 11:19 PM   #1

Virginia
What brand toyhauler would you recommend?

I realize this is a Dutchman forum and I don't own a Dutchman yet but hope to just because of the water capacity. However after reading many of the items in this forum I'm doubting if I should buy a Dutchman. So I'm wondering what would be the best brand of Toy Hauler to buy? We will be full time in about 2 years and made a toy hauler of about 10 to 14 feet in length and lots of home space.I've been RVing for about 25 years in a number of different campers. Right now I own a Lance 1121 truck camper but obviously it's too small for full time. I'll be buying a new Dodge Ram 3500 or Ford F 350. I like to Cummins engine very well so it'll probably be a Ram 3500 dually

Thank you,

Mark

mark33swm@aol.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2015, 03:15 AM   #2

Nevada
I think you should select one based off of three major categories, and not in any particular order.

1. Floor plan

2. Features you want

3. Build quality

Build quality can be a difference maker. My 3200 was built in late 2012 and seems ok...for now. I had a salesman tell me (at a difference place than where I bought it) they he thinks they had better QC during that time. I think the QC can very for the manufactures. I'm not sure if any have got it constantly nailed down, maybe others know of some.

Speaking of trucks, I test drove a Cummins 6.7, not so good compared to the Ford 6.7 in stock form which is what I'm sticking too. Just not enough power even though on paper they were matched up.

Good luck with your choices.

Race Bikes
Brandt51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2015, 03:27 AM   #3

Texas
Mark,