Onan Generators IMHO - Dutchmen Owners
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-24-2015, 03:46 PM   #1

Texas
Onan Generators IMHO

I’ve been following a generator thread on the forum with great interest in the conclusion. I don’t want to hijack so I’m going to start a new thread.

I am puzzled by the many post on the forum about issues with the Onan generators. I’ve been tailgating since 2008, with a group that has grown to about a dozen guys/gals, most of which have toy haulers with an Onan, and as we share camping stories I can’t recall anyone mentioning any problems with their generators.

I’m on my second Onan, I put well over 500 hours on the first in 15 months and I’m just over 500 hours on my Voltage after 16 months… without fail. It’s hot in West Texas and you gotta have AC, even in the Fall, so out tailgating you fire up your generator when you pull in the lot Friday evening and run it until you head home Sunday afternoon. (Tech just added power poles to some of the tailgate spots last year) Most of my tailgate buddies also have boats and our local lake only has dry camping, so during the Spring and Summer at the lake you fire up the generator when you set up Friday and it runs until you pack up on Sunday.

A post in the thread mention above… “I am sitting at 30ish hours on my generator so far” made me realize that maybe it is a use it or lose it proposition.

I’m going to pick on Cale, cuz I like him. I don’t think he has had any problems with his generator so far, but if he has only run it 30 hours in the ten months, that’s just over the break in period, he should still have the gas in the tank from when he filled up last year.

I read a recommendation that you should exercise an Onan generator every 30 days when idle and run it for two hours to bring in up to max operating temperature. That’s at least 24 hours a year.