Auto-Reset Breaker fails; No 12V in cabin w/o Gen? Stuttering jacks? - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Brand RVs > Toy Hauler
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-20-2020, 04:57 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Oxnard
Posts: 233
California
Auto-Reset Breaker fails; No 12V in cabin w/o Gen? Stuttering jacks?

If you ever have complete 12v power loss to the fuse panel / distribution center - including ceiling lights, even the refrigerator - UNLESS the generator is running, your problem is one of those 6 or 7 50A auto-reset breakers has gone bad. Theyíre located on the upper left of your battery compartment, behind a black plastic cover.

It will probably be the one with the fattest red cable on the right side. Test each breaker with a continuity tester. One, probably that one, will be dead, like a burnt fuse. Good auto-reset breakers should pass current at rest. The part is only about $5. I bought extras when it happened the FIRST time. Thankfully I had them with me today, when on our 4th day out, it happened again!

This one should likely be 80A. LCI advised that for the one running the hydraulic jacks, solving the issue of having to press the button about 50 times to get the jacks up or down. I recommend that one too!
__________________

__________________
2015 Voltage 3800 w/ Epic IV, Int&Ext, Garage Pkgs; 8x100W Solar, 2x Xantrex C35 Charge Controllers, SW2000 Inverter & Monitor; 2005 Chevy Duramax Dually 3500 w/Banks; Kawi KFX700 & Polaris Scrambler 500 ATVs.
VCToyhauler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2020, 05:15 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
dsol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Calabasas
Posts: 268
California
Interesting. I have had my hydraulic jacks just shut off a few times when using and have had to power back on and it works but didnít realize the circuit was undersized.

Once again makes perfect sense when you realize how poorly/cheaply the manufacturer puts these things together.
__________________

dsol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2020, 11:04 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Roselle
Posts: 1,201
Illinois
I think it was an industry-wide issue. Same thing in my 2019 Riverstone Legacy 5th wheel.
Rusty
__________________
2015 Black F-350 Platinum Diesel Dually Crew Cab
2019 Riverstone Legacy 38MB (Full Paint/All Options)
2015 Voltage 3990 (Full Paint, All Options) Sold 6/18
2005 Harley Ultra Classic w/too many miles
lcv800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2020, 02:18 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
dsol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Calabasas
Posts: 268
California
@OP (or anyone for that matter) Can you post a picture of the breaker and where you can purchase the 80A version? Is there a dedicated circuit for the hydraulic jacks or is it shared with the one you mentioned on the top?

Thanks.
dsol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2020, 03:30 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Oxnard
Posts: 233
California
Hereís the 50: ZOOKOTO 2pcs 12-24V 20 Amp ATV AUTO Resettable Circuit Breaker Fuse holder 20A https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07HFT83LL..._SSI7EbBF7H5DY

Hereís the 80: Bussmann CB181F-80 Waterproof High Amp Flush Mount Type I Circuit Breaker (80 Amp), 1 Pack https://www.amazon.com/dp/B008QDI9HY..._xTI7Eb72QAJ4C

Iíll send pics from the rig too later..
__________________
2015 Voltage 3800 w/ Epic IV, Int&Ext, Garage Pkgs; 8x100W Solar, 2x Xantrex C35 Charge Controllers, SW2000 Inverter & Monitor; 2005 Chevy Duramax Dually 3500 w/Banks; Kawi KFX700 & Polaris Scrambler 500 ATVs.
VCToyhauler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2020, 10:31 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
dsol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Calabasas
Posts: 268
California
Thanks appreciate the information. I might just buy it to have around in case my current one starts to smog bad.
dsol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2020, 10:56 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Oxnard
Posts: 233
California
The 80A replaced the one of the 50s in the original set that was for the jacks; it is pictured here on back wall, to the right of the stock breakers, shown in upper left, with black cover removed. Looking for way to send pic..
__________________
2015 Voltage 3800 w/ Epic IV, Int&Ext, Garage Pkgs; 8x100W Solar, 2x Xantrex C35 Charge Controllers, SW2000 Inverter & Monitor; 2005 Chevy Duramax Dually 3500 w/Banks; Kawi KFX700 & Polaris Scrambler 500 ATVs.
VCToyhauler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2020, 11:03 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Oxnard
Posts: 233
California
Hereís the pic mentioned earlier..
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	295C6324-AECF-4936-AA8E-0FA436442C72.jpg
Views:	53
Size:	55.7 KB
ID:	6334  
__________________
2015 Voltage 3800 w/ Epic IV, Int&Ext, Garage Pkgs; 8x100W Solar, 2x Xantrex C35 Charge Controllers, SW2000 Inverter & Monitor; 2005 Chevy Duramax Dually 3500 w/Banks; Kawi KFX700 & Polaris Scrambler 500 ATVs.
VCToyhauler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2020, 10:04 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: callahan
Posts: 29
Florida
Auto reset breaker danger

We all know the manufactures will use bare minimum stuff so I would expect they use # 6 ga cu wire for their 50a breaker. If you are changing the breaker to 80amp make sure the wire gauge feeding it is #4 or larger which I doubt. Those circuit breakers are to protect the wire not downstream items. The #6 wire could burn up before the 80amp breaker will trip. The #6 wire at less than 10ft might carry the 80amp load for a while but more than 10 ft and your 6 Ga wire is in danger of burning up thus causing a fire.
edwin sandel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2020, 11:17 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Grand Junction
Posts: 43
Colorado
80A breaker and 8G wire

Edwin is correct about the breaker protecting the wire. However, the 80A breaker will trip long before an 8AWG wire burns up. There are several different ampacity tables for different applications, but 8AWG in open air is rated for 60+ amps continuous.
leisuresolar@gmail.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2020, 01:27 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Oxnard
Posts: 233
California
Thanks guys! Also it looks like I do have #4 on that autobreaker (2nd one from bottom, coming out the right side) so I should be OK when I upsize It to an 80. For now, I just replaced the 50, and have another spare (which was my main point; if you donít have a spare, you will have an issue out there)
__________________
2015 Voltage 3800 w/ Epic IV, Int&Ext, Garage Pkgs; 8x100W Solar, 2x Xantrex C35 Charge Controllers, SW2000 Inverter & Monitor; 2005 Chevy Duramax Dually 3500 w/Banks; Kawi KFX700 & Polaris Scrambler 500 ATVs.
VCToyhauler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2020, 03:17 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: callahan
Posts: 29
Florida
Auto reset breaker danger

VC Toyhauler. I am glad you verifed the 4 ga cu wire and so you will be fine using the 80amp breaker. It sounds like someone actually undersized using the 50 amp braker, Maybe that was all the previous owner could find it a pinch. Good luck on your travels.
edwin sandel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2020, 10:43 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Roselle
Posts: 1,201
Illinois
Actually it must have been a manufacturers spec as most all of the RV's came with them. I know Forest River was using them until last year when they switched to 80's.
Rusty
__________________
2015 Black F-350 Platinum Diesel Dually Crew Cab
2019 Riverstone Legacy 38MB (Full Paint/All Options)
2015 Voltage 3990 (Full Paint, All Options) Sold 6/18
2005 Harley Ultra Classic w/too many miles
lcv800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2020, 07:41 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Oxnard
Posts: 233
California
True, except Iím the original owner! LCI actually issued a service memo recommending the 50 to 80A increase for the one on the jacks, which totally solved the problem of having to press the button a dozen times just to raise or lower the jacks.
__________________
2015 Voltage 3800 w/ Epic IV, Int&Ext, Garage Pkgs; 8x100W Solar, 2x Xantrex C35 Charge Controllers, SW2000 Inverter & Monitor; 2005 Chevy Duramax Dually 3500 w/Banks; Kawi KFX700 & Polaris Scrambler 500 ATVs.
VCToyhauler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2020, 10:36 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
joebedford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Quarantine
Posts: 363
Ontario
Are you saying it wouldn't work on shore power either? In my 3950, the power converter is on the fuse panel side of that auto-reset breaker. Failed breaker would cause shore power not to work unless the breaker shorted to ground.
joebedford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2020, 07:05 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Oxnard
Posts: 233
California
Good question. I had not tried it on shore power. It did work under generator power, so that must take a different route, probably the same as shore 120vAC. I do know is itís definitely a problem under 12v power only.
__________________
2015 Voltage 3800 w/ Epic IV, Int&Ext, Garage Pkgs; 8x100W Solar, 2x Xantrex C35 Charge Controllers, SW2000 Inverter & Monitor; 2005 Chevy Duramax Dually 3500 w/Banks; Kawi KFX700 & Polaris Scrambler 500 ATVs.
VCToyhauler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2020, 02:45 PM   #17
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Redlands
Posts: 5
California
Thank you for reverse polarity tip.
Any idea where in the rig the converter is located
And amp of fuse?
Kimbo W Palmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 07:51 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Oxnard
Posts: 233
California
Converter is located behind fireplace. Replace the stock converter with a better 100A 4 stage smarter charger like the Ďboondockerí from bestconverters.com
__________________

__________________
2015 Voltage 3800 w/ Epic IV, Int&Ext, Garage Pkgs; 8x100W Solar, 2x Xantrex C35 Charge Controllers, SW2000 Inverter & Monitor; 2005 Chevy Duramax Dually 3500 w/Banks; Kawi KFX700 & Polaris Scrambler 500 ATVs.
VCToyhauler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2020 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×