Power wire for CB not connected - Dutchmen Owners
Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Brand RVs > Fifth Wheel
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-30-2021, 12:41 AM   #1
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: Peoria
Posts: 5
Arizona
Power wire for CB not connected

My outlets in my 5th wheel stopped working. It affects outlets in back of RV and under table. All other outlets work in RV. Opened circuit breaker panel and found power wire not connected.

The ground and negative connected. I checked continuity for wire to socket. Bingo it is the non working outlets power wire.

Go to circuit breakers and no missing power wire. I'm guessing they piggyback to another breaker, but which one?

Second thought I could put in a new 15 amp breaker?

Any thoughts

Ken in AZ
__________________

Kreilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2021, 12:19 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Wesley Chapel
Posts: 2,540
Florida
Technically, you are not allowed to piggyback wires on a circuit breaker. Have the outlets never worked?can you add another breaker?

Welcome to the forum by the way!
__________________

franktafl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2021, 07:22 PM   #3
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: Peoria
Posts: 5
Arizona
Power wire for CB not connected

Thanks for the reply and welcome to the forum.

Yes I have a slot for one more CB.

Not sure when it happened. I did have wash and dryer put in when purchased.

Ken
Kreilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2021, 01:37 AM   #4
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: Peoria
Posts: 5
Arizona
I put in a 15 amp breaker. Works good for what it is needed. ��
Kreilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2021, 01:48 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: FLA. largo
Posts: 191
Florida
I have tripped the gfi a few times That does
The same thing you described have you
Checked all you gfi outlets
Ovalvw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2021, 04:43 AM   #6
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: Peoria
Posts: 5
Arizona
Yes I have and could not find any tripped CFI.

Put in new independent 15 amp circuit breaker. Box holds 12 circuit breakers. This was number 12.
__________________

Kreilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

« Slide support | - »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Popular Tags
5th wheel 201qb aerolite cub air in water lines aspen trail atwood water heater tubes awning backup camera prep battery bed size boondocking breaker bunk doors capacity. check water heater counter cracking furniture dometic dry camping factory warranty floor grand junction gray tank cable failure grey water inverter irv-29 issues kodiak led living room tv mount mini pcs module missing camera wiring molding murphy bed new battery drained newbie no power norcold open valve w/failed cable oven polishing poor quality poor workmanship porch light on range rbsl223 repair roof screen room shore power shortstop solar sway bar table temperature top seal toy hauler trim turn signals tvmount tvs ultra lite vent wiring voltage 3950 water leak water pressure waxing rv winter winter travel winter under belly wiring
» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2020 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×