Leveling contol panel - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Brand RVs > Fifth Wheel
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-11-2020, 06:06 PM   #1
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: KEIZER
Posts: 9
Oregon
Leveling contol panel

Does anyone know if it is possible to move the LCI electric leveling control panel from one side of the 5th wheel to the other side of the 5th wheel. Our panel is in the storage bay on the drivers side and where we park the 5th wheel at our house is really close to the neighbors bushes. This makes it nearly impossible to level the rig after parking it. I want to move it to the passenger side of the 5th wheel, it would be in the same storage bay.

Thanks
__________________

Carr2ne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2020, 06:53 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,945
Oklahoma
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carr2ne View Post
Does anyone know if it is possible to move the LCI electric leveling control panel from one side of the 5th wheel to the other side of the 5th wheel. Our panel is in the storage bay on the drivers side and where we park the 5th wheel at our house is really close to the neighbors bushes. This makes it nearly impossible to level the rig after parking it. I want to move it to the passenger side of the 5th wheel, it would be in the same storage bay.

Thanks
I would think the wire loom would be the first determining factor as to how far the panel can be moved. There may be other factors but if the wires aren't long enough............
__________________

__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2020, 06:54 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
ATCguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Cody
Posts: 1,436
Wyoming
Yes, you should be able to with no problem. I did the same to mine about 5 years ago. The power cord behind it is about 7' long so the installers could place it on either side.
__________________
Tom
2013 VOLTAGE 3200 (EPIC I & II)
2014 Ford F-450 PLATINUM
2018 BMW R1200GS RALLYE
ATCguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2020, 07:53 PM   #4
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: KEIZER
Posts: 9
Oregon
Thanks, I will pull the panel off and check the wire loom. I guess if its not long enough I could extend the wires right?
Carr2ne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2020, 09:28 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,945
Oklahoma
Quote:
Originally Posted by ATCguy View Post
Yes, you should be able to with no problem. I did the same to mine about 5 years ago. The power cord behind it is about 7' long so the installers could place it on either side.

Do you know for sure the wire loom was left long for the installer's placement option or was someone too lazy to trim the wires?


I had six feet of heater duct tucked in the garage wall cavity and I'm pretty sure it wasn't left long to give the installers an option for placement of the vent.
__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2020, 12:32 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
dsol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Calabasas
Posts: 339
California
Also, you might be able to use some flex conduit and just run the wires against the wall along the floor then run up to the new controller location. I am not sure I would try and do it “pretty” behind the wall in the forward generator area just leave it in the storage area.
dsol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2020, 04:21 PM   #7
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: KEIZER
Posts: 9
Oregon
I have not had a chance to look at it yet, with all the fires here in Oregon the air quality has been ridiculous for the last week. It seems like we are out of danger where I live but the fires are still burning up towns and land east of us. Once I can be outside for more than a minute or so I will see what I can do. I will make sure that It looks "professional" no matter what I end up doing.
__________________

Carr2ne is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2020 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×