Help. - Dutchmen Owners
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen RV Owner's Community Forums > New Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Old 01-25-2016, 05:09 PM   #1

Florida
Exclamation Help.

<< Daily emotional range over the past three weeks or so.

So, I found "a great deal" on Craigslist for a Toy Hauler. I'm an Iraq Veteran and have some limitations on what I can do to earn money. I decided since I want to travel so bad, getting a toy hauler, setting it up to transport pets and other cargo and perhaps do some grooming at campgrounds would be the perfect set up.

I showed up to a scene of a teenaged boy doing what he said was finishing up applying a coating on the roof. The boyfriend of the woman who owned it told me that he wanted to go ahead and apply it since it was due for a new top coat. I could see that the interior needed remodeling and didn't care about that at all since I would be remodeling any unit I found anyway.

Long story short, they used pressure tactics to sell it to me and I bought it hook line and sinker. I handed over 6 grand in cash and drove away with the title in my hand. Prior to this, I had spend weeks doing the best research I could as to exactly what my 2015 F150 could pull and for the engine size, using the VIN, the dealership told me 8500lbs. The TT is 6500. The trailer was jerking, bumping the entire 1 hour trip to the storage facility near my home, despite the new brake switch that Uhaul just installed ever so ghetto-ly. Just a really bad day that got so much worse. I was almost to point B when the front seams on both sides split open and created air pockets which ripped off the passenger's side about 80 square feet.