Dual pane windows - Dutchmen Owners
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen RV Owner's Community Forums > New Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Old 05-04-2014, 02:03 AM   #1

Oklahoma
Cool Dual pane windows

Hi, I am new to the sight, long time lookie loo. I am going to order a voltage 3970 and was wondering if anyone has any knowledge of the dual pain windows. The dealer did not recommend them saying that the R factor is 1% higher then just the single pain also the wieght and the $2000.00 cost. Thanks jim

Grdrod1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 02:17 AM   #2

Wyoming
Well, dual pane windows are more than 1% higher, ask anyone who lives in colder climates if they think dual pane windows are worth it or not. Remember that it works both ways- in winter it keeps the heat in and in summer it keeps the heat out if you're using your AC.

Another factor people overlook is sound. Dual panes make your trailer a lot quieter.
I have them and would not buy a unit without them. This actually goes for the whole winterized package. You never know when you'll need it, it's not always about winter areas but also elevation. Some places in the southwest are pretty high up and have hot days and cold nights.

Wanderer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 02:42 AM   #3

Oklahoma
I know that the dual pain windows in my house are built very well and are really efficiant. I was wondering if the windows that they put into the units are worth it. Sounds like your sold on them and your comments make a lot of since. How about the extra wieght is it very noticable. The Voltage 3970 loaded is about 20,000 Lbs
Grdrod1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 03:12 AM   #4

Arizona
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grdrod1 View Post
The Voltage 3970 loaded is about 20,000 Lbs