Considering buying our first 5th wheel! - Dutchmen Owners
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen RV Owner's Community Forums > New Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Old 12-28-2015, 11:53 PM   #1

South Dakota
Cool Considering buying our first 5th wheel!

Hello everybody,My wife and I are considering a purchase but I'm just doing some research.

We are currently looking at a:
1996 DUTCHMEN Classic Ameristar

We haven't looked at it in person yet but it looks solid. No slide out, the door is towards the back.

I was going to ask if anyone has had any experience with this model.

Thanks and Happy Camping!!

Mopar dewd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2015, 03:32 PM   #2

Florida
I have no experience with that particular rig but beware of any 16 year-old camper. Make sure you check carefully for leaks. You should negotiate down to a very low price because of it's age and lack of a slide. And yes, there are lots of 16 year-old rigs out there that are in very good condition. Just be cautious.
Good luck and welcome to the forum. Make sure you post pictures of your rig when it is purchased.

Handyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2015, 04:58 PM   #3

California
Like Handyman said "I have no experience with that particular rig". I do have experience with buying rv's that are that old. I helped my son buy a 5th wheel Wilderness that had a slide that was that age. It needed all the tires & had roof & water damage. We got it at a good price & with some work he has a very nice 30' 5th wheel.

Is this your first RV?
2012 F-350 6.7l CC 4X4, Sold 10/10/17
DesertRat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2015, 05:25 PM   #4

Nevada