Atwood furnace runs only 5 sec - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen RV Owner's Community Forums > Forum Help | Announcements | Member Concerns
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-17-2019, 10:03 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: cape coral
Posts: 16
Alabama
Atwood furnace runs only 5 sec

In my Kodiak I have an Atwood furnace which the blower runs for 15 sec then the burner runs for 5 sec. It does it 3 times and quits for about 1 hr. And repeats. The model is AFMD30111 A

I turn the thermostat up down way high makes no difference comes on 3 times for 5 sec and quites for about 1 hr

I took the outside cover off and press the reset button did the same thing three times on for 5 seconds then quits

I'm in Miami and it got down to 56 last night, we about froze to death LOL
__________________

windswepttom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2019, 10:56 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,865
Oklahoma
That sounds like a no gas or low gas symptom. Or bugs in the burner or dirt in the orifice.
__________________

__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2019, 02:18 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: cape coral
Posts: 16
Alabama
It has a full tank of gas and when it runs for the five seconds I stick my hand in front of the exhaust and blows hot air so I don't think it's orifice as always Burns for exactly five seconds three times and then quits
windswepttom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2019, 02:39 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Thom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Youngstown
Posts: 651
Florida
Sail switch.
Thom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2019, 02:53 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,865
Oklahoma
The short burn time will produce some warmth but if there isn't enough time and heat to satisfy the heat sensor the furnace will cycle down.
It could be the sail switch or not enough flame to produce the heat needed to keep the valve open.
The burner tube could be obstructed or the orifice could be dirty as mentioned earlier. It could even be low gas pressure regardless of the fact the stove burner and water heater may be working. The furnace needs a lot of gas to work properly.
__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2019, 07:40 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Chatham
Posts: 45
Ontario
We had similar problem with our new camper. would go into DSI fault after igniting and burning for only a few seconds, then stop working. Was our control board ultimately. Not saying that's it but after trying to ignite it manually with bbq lighter etc, it ended up being something in the control board that made the ignitor/flame sensor not function properly.
jmatteis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2019, 09:38 PM   #7
Member
 
kraines1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: The middle of Nowhere
Posts: 11
Indiana
Check airflow sensor

I found two things that caused me issues, 1st was mudwasp nest in exhaust reducing flow. 2nd was a/c fan ran at same time to much pressure, trip breaker for that fan and furnace ran great.
kraines1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2019, 10:30 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Beaver Dam
Posts: 364
Wisconsin
Two items listed in installation manual.

Limit Switch/Airflow Problems - 1 flash w/3 sec pause
Ignition Lockout Fault - 3-Flashes With 3-Second Pause - 1 hour retry

https://manuals.heartlandowners.org/...wood%20AFM.PDF
__________________
Paul Bristol
Dutchman Kodiak Cub KD176RD 2018
Nissan Pathfinder 2015
persistent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2019, 12:46 AM   #9
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Eddyville
Posts: 1
Kentucky
Try 0 degrees in western Kentucky, then talk about freezing your buns off.
Tallkool1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2019, 01:16 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: cape coral
Posts: 16
Alabama
It has an LED light on the board, I had to go out at night to see find it it has an error code depending on the number of flashes mine is 3 flashes in a row which is ignition lock fault?

Anybody know what that is?
windswepttom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2019, 01:22 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,865
Oklahoma
Quote:
Originally Posted by windswepttom View Post
It has an LED light on the board, I had to go out at night to see find it it has an error code depending on the number of flashes mine is 3 flashes in a row which is ignition lock fault?

Anybody know what that is?

You might want to start a new post with the type of furnace you have and the problem you are experiencing.
__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2019, 07:42 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: cape coral
Posts: 16
Alabama
problem solved
The propane pressure was too low. I got the propane tank filled at a propane dealer with 21 pounds and it works great.
I have a pressure gauge on the tank and it showed that I had a full tank I think the pressure gauge was off.

Now I don't have to worry about freezing on Thanksgiving it's supposed to get down to 75 in South Florida for Thanksgiving LOL
windswepttom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2019, 08:29 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: tampa
Posts: 1,893
Florida
that happened to me here at home with my propane grill. had to change the regulator in order to use all the propane in the tank. Was there still propane in the tank?
franktafl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2019, 09:27 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,865
Oklahoma
[QUOTE=sundancer 87;7184


DUH! I forgot who posted the first post in the thread. Sorry about that windswettom
__________________

__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
atwood, furnace, quits

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Popular Tags
#coleman 5th wheel 195qb 243 255bhsl kodiak 1700bh apsen trail 1700bh tv mount 1991 2018 atlas 3305 ac problem aerolite aerolite 282 dbhs. 2018 air bag air conditioning atwood awnins bathroom battery charging black tank btu caulk; gasket charger chassis coleman cub denali lights diagrams disconnect dutchman dutchman endurance 3006 dutchmen electrical electrical inverter electric conversion floor floor bounce flooring fuel station furnace generator gray water tank interior inverter kodiak cub landing gear lights bad ground switch lost panel motor owners manual panels propane pvc valve replacement roof brackets satellite hookup screws slide manual open solar specs needed structural fault switch thermarest aening tires voltage wall water heater water lines winterize wiring diagram
» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×