battery disconnect switch - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Brand RVs > Thor and Dutchmen Motorhomes
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-24-2016, 12:47 AM   #1
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: 164 east cherry st.
Posts: 4
Pennsylvania
battery disconnect switch

i have a Dutchmen express 28 and i think the battery disconnect switch is bad does anyone have a part # to get it replaced
__________________

mjrichlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2016, 12:42 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Nana & Poppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Old Forge
Posts: 886
New York
http://www.amazon.com/Marinco-701-Ba...+switch+for+RV

Anyone should work for you.....
__________________

__________________
Kathy & Leo ~Adirondack Mtn. Region of NY
2013 Rubicon 2900 Toy hauler
2010 Ford F-350 4x4 Lariat Dually Super Crew Diesel
Nana & Poppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2016, 01:33 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
chily3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 360
California
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nana & Poppy View Post
That is one I use on my aspen trail, inline on the negative battery cable behind the box.
__________________

Mike & Emily-Sacramento, CA
Our 4th trailer (2016 Aspen Trail 1900RB)
2015 F150 2.7 Eco Boost
chily3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2016, 11:49 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Nana & Poppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Old Forge
Posts: 886
New York
Oh on the battery disconnect......just make sure that if you use or plan on using more than one battery, you get one that will handle multi batteries.
__________________
Kathy & Leo ~Adirondack Mtn. Region of NY
2013 Rubicon 2900 Toy hauler
2010 Ford F-350 4x4 Lariat Dually Super Crew Diesel
Nana & Poppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2016, 02:34 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
chily3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 360
California
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nana & Poppy View Post
Oh on the battery disconnect......just make sure that if you use or plan on using more than one battery, you get one that will handle multi batteries.
If they are connected in series, then all you need is one. Connect at last battery to ground.
__________________

Mike & Emily-Sacramento, CA
Our 4th trailer (2016 Aspen Trail 1900RB)
2015 F150 2.7 Eco Boost
chily3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2016, 03:31 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Oxnard
Posts: 175
California
A battery disconnect is a very basic switch and not nearly as likely to be 'bad' as it is that the actual problem, which is more likely to be one of the many sensors, cameras, or outside stereo control etc. that are always on and others have found to bypass and thereby render ineffective the factory's installation of a (probably ok) kill switch.
__________________
2015 Voltage 3800 w/ Epic, Int&Ext, Garage Pkgs; 4x100W Solar, Xantrex C35 Charge, SW2000 Inverter & Mon; 2005 Chevy Duramax Dually 3500 w/Banks; Kawi KFX700 & Polaris Scrambler 500 ATVs.
VCToyhauler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2016, 04:25 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Tanman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 519
I installed a second battery disconnect that REALLY shuts the battery off. The factory is useless as it still allows some items to function ultimately draining the battery..I put mine just above the battery on the wall.. simple and easy.. you can get one at any marine store or most auto parts stores not to mention camping stores
Tanman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2016, 01:08 AM   #8
Member
 
clint343's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Stephenson
Posts: 31
Virginia
It. Makes me crazy that those items are still running with the factory disconnect off. Where can I get instructions on replacing it?

Sent from my SM-G925P using Tapatalk
clint343 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2016, 11:22 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Tanman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 519
i had the same problem.. you do not need to replace the factory switch. you will still have the same problem if you do.. you need to install a new one right at the battery on the side wall. It is very simple to install. You can find them at any marine supply or even automotive stores.
Tanman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2018, 06:35 PM   #10
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: zypherhills
Posts: 4
Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tanman View Post
i had the same problem.. you do not need to replace the factory switch. you will still have the same problem if you do.. you need to install a new one right at the battery on the side wall. It is very simple to install. You can find them at any marine supply or even automotive stores.
I have one on the main battery and another on the aux battery. Both connected on the neg side of the battery.
__________________

travelinDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT. The time now is 02:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.